Dhanraj to represent Karnataka in WSH: Final Teams

Former  India captain, Viren Rasquinha, making a comeback  with the inaugural edition of the World Series Hockey will represent Mumbai,  while mercurial striker Dhanraj Pillay will strengthen the Karnataka team “Karnataka Lions” in the prestigious League that gets underway from December 17.

Adrian Dsouza, Brent Livermore, Viren Rasquinha

Adrian Dsouza, Brent Livermore, Viren Rasquinha

The teams were finalized via a player draft that was held at the ITC Grand Central, Parel  (Mumbai). The fourth franchise of WSH i.e. “Delhi Wizards” was also announced today. The Delhi franchise is owned by Wizcraft International , India’s well-known Communication and Entertainment company. As earlier announced Chennai franchise Chennai Cheetahs is owned by Chennai Sports Organisers, while Karnataka Lions is owned Zentrum Group mentored by action hero Suniel Shetty and ‘Sai Grace Sports & Events Private Limited (SGSEPL)’ is the franchise owner for Pune Strykers.

On joining World Series Hockey, Sabbas Joseph, Director Wizcraft International, said, “We have always been associated with marquee sports events like the ICC World Cup 2011, Indian Premier League and the Commonwealth Games. We see tremendous opportunity in sports in terms of a business and more importantly in building a loyal fan base. This is an important step that will further expand the canvas for Wizcraft and help build a strong following for our national game.”

Following is the final team composition of all 8 teams that will play in the World Series Hockey. Continue reading →