SAI released Rs.11.27 crore to Hockey India during 2014-15 against allocated budget of Rs. 10.5 crore

After reports appeared in a section of media about Sports Authority of India (SAI) not clearing the National Junior Women’s Hockey Camp proposed to be conducted in Bhopal from 19th August, 2014 to 30th September, 2014, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports clarified the situation through a press release.

Hockey India LogoAccording to press release, Hockey India was allocated a budget of Rs. 10.50 crore for its Annual Calendar of Training and Competitions for 2014-2015. Hockey India was required to determine its priorities for competitions and training within this budget. Any additional funding for its additional requirements depends on various factors including availability of funds under the relevant scheme.  Continue reading →

Debutants Hockey Gangpur-Odisha Won Sub Junior Nationals 2014 – Women (B Division)

Haldwani, Uttarakhand, 25 May 2014: Debutants Hockey Gangpur-Odisha defeated Sports Authority of India (SAI) to win the B-Division of 4th Sub Junior National Hockey Championship 2014. Punjab finished at 3rd place by defeating Bhopal by a huge margin of 13-0, while the team from Gangpur-Odisha defeated SAI by 2-1 in final played here in Haldwani, Uttarakhand today.

Hockey Gangpur- Odisha: the Champions 4th Sub Junior National Hockey Championship 2014 – Women (B-Division) at Haldwani

Hockey Gangpur- Odisha: the Champions 4th Sub Junior National Hockey Championship 2014 – Women (B-Division) at Haldwani

In an exciting finals match today, Hockey Gangpur- Odisha beats Sports Authority of India by 2-1. Hockey Gangpur-Odisha fully dominated the first half of the match and did not let Sports Authority of India to score a single goal. Hockey Gangpur-Odisha looked pumped up from the initial minute of match and kept on attacking the opponent. Continue reading →

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha Won Sub-Junior Men Nationals 2014 (B-Div)

18 May 2014: Hockey Gangpur-Odisha defeated Delhi 5-2 to emerge champions of the 4th Hockey India Sub- Junior Men National Championship (Division B) at Vadodara, Gujarat, while Sports Authority Of India finished at the 3rd place with a convincing and huge 11-2 victory over hosts Gujarat.

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha: Champions of the 4th Hockey India Sub- Junior Men National Championship (Division B)

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha: Champions of the 4th Hockey India Sub- Junior Men National Championship (Division B)

In the finals between, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha and Delhi, the former stole the match away from Delhi by 5-2 and claims the first spot, leaving Delhi to settle as the runner-ups. The first half of the final saw only one goal coming in from Hockey Gangpur-Odisha in the 13th minute as a field goal through Sanjay Xalxo and taking the lead by 1-0 by the end of the first half of the game. Continue reading →

118th Beighton Cup Hockey: Quarfer Final League from Nov 7

118th edition of the Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament, the oldest hockey tournament in world, is being played at Sports Authority of India, Kolkata since October 28th. The Quarter Final League stage of the tournament will start from tomorrow (7 November 2013).

Beighton Cup (Photo Courtesy: Bharat Malik)

Four teams including defending champions Indian Oil, Air India, Army XI and ONGC have been seeded directly into the Quarter Final league stage. The qualifying matches for Quarter Finals league were completed today.

Today, CAG defeated South Central Railway 4-2 to become the 4th qualifying team for the Quarter Final League stage, while Northern Railways defeated Young Society by 7-1. Yesterday, ERSA and Central Railways won their respective matches against Canara Bank (4-3) and CESC Sporting Club (4-3) respectively to qualify for QF League stage of the 2013 edition of Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament. Continue reading →

Maharashtra, Odisha & Himachal Pradesh complete the Quarter-Finals Line-up Junior Men’s Hockey Nationals 2013

10 June 2013: The Hockey Maharashtra, Odisha and Himachal Pradesh completed the quarter-finals line-up of the 3rd Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2013 being played at Moti Lal Nehru Sports Complex, Rai in Sonepat (Haryana).

Hockey India LogoThe hosts Haryana, along with Punjab, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy and Sports Authority of India are the other teams who have already qualified for the quarter-finals.

In Pool B, Odisha defeated Tamil Nadu 7-1 in their concluding league match. Odisha scored through Dipsan Tirkey (6 min), Jpseph Toppo (6 min), Joseph Toppo (24 min), Sunil Ekka (33 min), Saroj Barla (45 min), Felix Baa (60 min) and Teophil Kujur (64, 70 min) while M Dhilleepan (3 min) scored for Tamil Nadu. Continue reading →

Day 7 of Pune Hockey Nationals 2013: Universities and Karnataka Won by Big Margins

New Delhi, 3 June 2013: On 7th day of Pune Hockey Nationals 2013, Association of Indian Universities and Karnataka registered big wins in their league matches played at Major Dhyan Chand Polygrass Hockey Stadium, Pimpri in Pune, while Services, Odisha and Manipur also won their respective matches.

3rd Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2013Association of Indian Universities registered easy win over Gujarat 19-1 in their Pool A league match. The goal scorers for Association of Indian Universities were Razin Kandulana (4, 8, 17, 18, 23 min), Gurpreet Singh (5 min), Manjinder Singh (12, 55 min), Gurjant Singh (14, 42 min), Hardeep Singh (27, 68 min), Ravisher Singh (27 min), Satinder Dalal (33 min), Jaskaran Singh (50, 65 min), Jaswinder Singh (54 min) and Ramandeep Singh( 57, 64 min) while Ankit Thakur (46 min) scored the only goal for Gujarat. Continue reading →