Kookaburras Comeback to beat Netherlands, as Ford scores his 50th Goal

For the second time in three days the Kookaburras turned around an early deficit against the Netherlands to run out as 5-2 winners (first time it was 3-1 in favor of visitors)in Rotterdam as they prepare for the World League, which gets underway in one week.

Russell Ford - Kookaburras (Australia Men's) Hockey Player (Photo Credit: Raghu Prasad RV)

File photo of Russell Ford (Credits: Raghu Prasad RV)

Russell Ford’s 50th goal for Australia was one of the notable moments in a match that also featured a rare goal from Matthew Swann and saw captain Eddie Ockenden find the net. But it was 22 year-old Aran Zalewski who got the Aussies back on track after Jeroen Hertzberger’s opening goal for the hosts and Trent Mitton who rounded things off with 15 minutes remaining.

Head Coach Ric Charlesworth pointed again to the early Dutch goal, mirroring Wednesday’s first clash between the two sides. “We had a slow start and we went down again,” he said. “We had a good finish to the first half but the second half was pretty even. We’ll take the result.” Continue reading →

Russell Ford’s Brace Helps Kookaburras to Share the Honours in 3rd Test against Korea

Kookaburras: Russell Ford 11,54 (F,F), Matt Willis 67 (F)
Korea: Yoon Sung Hoon 3 (F), Own Goal 28 (OG), Lee Jung Jin 40 (F)

Russell Ford - Kookaburras (Australia Men's) Hockey Player (Photo Credit: Raghu Prasad RV)

File Photo: Russell Ford in Action (Photo Credit: Raghu Prasad RV)

Two Russell Ford (VIC) strikes and a first goal for his country from Matt Willis (NSW) helped the Kookaburras fight back twice for a 3-3 draw against Korea in the third of four Tests in Perth, WA, on Tuesday.

In wet conditions, Australia found themselves behind early in the match but equalised through Ford’s well placed shot in the 11th minute. An own goal against the run of play courtesy of the pads of goalkeeper George Bazeley put Korea back in front at the break and the Kookaburras found themselves two goals down soon after the restart through Lee Seung Hoon’s tomahawk. But Ford’s second strike following good work by Trent Mitton down the left and Willis’ sweep home earned the Kookaburras a share of the spoils. And it could have been more had a late penalty corner been successfully converted. Continue reading →

Five more Kookaburras join Mumbai Magicians and Punjab Warriors

After return of 9 Pakistani players, the Hockey India League board quickly resolved the issue of teams having fewer players, allowing them to select replacement players from the list of reserves who missed out in the original auction.

Liam De Young

Liam De Young

Australian coaches in the league Ric Charlesworth (Mumbai Magicians) and Barry Dancer (Punjab Warriors) immediately filled their sought after vacancies with trusty foes – 2013 Kookaburras national squad players.

Charlesworth added Kookaburras co-captain Liam de Young, London Olympic bronze medallist Tim Deavin and 2012 Champions Trophy gold medallist’s Glenn Simpson and Jason Wilson. The Magicians team now comprises 8 Australian players while the Warriors have 7. Dancer opted to replace Kashif Shah with Victorian and 2012 Champions Trophy gold medallist, Russell Ford. Continue reading →

Four Australian co-captains lead players signing up for Hockey India League

NEW DELHI, October 16: Several Australian hockey stars have joined their captain Jamie Dwyer in making themselves available for the prestigious Hockey India League. As many as four Australian co-captains Mark Knowles, Fergus Kavanagh, Liam de Young and Edward Ockenden will be part of the Hockey India League Players Auction to be held next month.

Hockey India Secretary-General and Hockey India League Chairman Dr Narinder Batra said the presence of a number of Australian stars would add to the quality of the league. It is our pleasure to unveil a star-studded list of Australian players who have signed contracts to be available for the Hockey India League Players Auction, he said. Continue reading →

Abbott will Miss Olympics due to Injury, Russell Ford will Join in

The Australian men’s hockey team announced today that star striker Des Abbott has been replaced in the Kookaburras Olympic team due to a knee injury that has failed to improve since selection.

Abbott will be replaced in the team by Victorian striker Russell Ford, who was informed yesterday of the coaching team’s decision.

Ric Charlesworth said today it was the hardest decision he has ever had to make during his distinguished coaching career.

“Des is a walk up start, if his game is uncompromised, he is one of the world’s most brilliant players but the progressive knee injury has interfered in his game,” he said. Continue reading →