“Hockey India On-line Academy Platform” Launched

New Delhi, 17 December 2014: Hockey India today launched “Hockey India On-line Academy Platform” (www.hioap.org). The platform is a step towards to produce and nurture young talent in hockey by supporting the coaches who are responsible towards the development of young talent from the grass-roots level.

At "Hockey India On-line Academy Platform" launch: Elena Norman (CEO Hockey India), Roelant Oltmans (Director High Performance), Arun Arora (Chief Comm Officer Cairn India) and Sourav Das (Corporate Affairs & Comm,Cairn India)

At “Hockey India On-line Academy Platform” launch: Elena Norman (CEO Hockey India), Roelant Oltmans (Director High Performance), Arun Arora (Chief Comm Officer Cairn India) and Sourav Das (Corporate Affairs & Comm,Cairn India)

The Hockey India On-line Academy platform is a comprehensive programme designed and created by Hockey India. This Online Hockey Academy platform is aimed at helping the coaches sitting in different parts of the country to learn the new tricks, strategies and development in the game and they in turn can inculcate in the daily learning routing of the young brigades.

We, The Fans of Hockey, got a chance to have a look inside the website, can say it is very well done. We are sure it would be very useful for the coaches, keeping them abreast with the latest techniques of coaching and who in turn can work towards ensuring that the players adapt to these technical aspects. Continue reading →

S S Grewal will be Manager High Performance (North Zone)

New Delhi, 24 July 2014: Taking forward the plan of developing hockey at grassroots level in the country, Hockey India today announced the appointment of former coach Sukhvir Singh Grewal as the Manager, High Performance (North Zone).

SS Grewal (Indian Hockey Coach and Manager)

Sukhvir Singh Grewal

Sukhvir Singh Grewal, who represented India in 1978 World Cup, will take charge on 1 August 2014. Earlier Hockey India also had appointed V Baskaran for the South Zone, who has already taken the charge from this month.

The North Zone comprises of Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Chandigarh, Rajasthan and Delhi, which produced many world class players for India contributing towards the reach hockey history of the country.

This move of having separate managers high performance for North (Grewal), South (Baskaran), Central, East, West zones by Hockey India will further ensure its commitment towards identifying, developing and giving such players an international platform to showcase their skills in the game of hockey. The Manager High Performance of each zone will work under Director High Performance Roelant Oltmans. Continue reading →

Kaushik Appointed as Coach of the Indian Men’s Hockey Team

10 July 2013: Olympian and Arjuna Awardee Maharaj Krishan (M K) Kaushik has been appointed as coach of the Indian Senior Men Hockey team.

Maharaj Krishan Kaushik Indian Hockey CoachM K Kaushik will assist the chief coach of the team and  will join the training camp of the senior men team starting from 16 July, 2013 at SAI Centre in Bangalore for the preparations for the 9th Asia Cup to be held in Malaysia next month from 24 August- 1 September 2013. Roelant Oltmans, who is Director of High Performance at Hockey India, will be the Chief Coach in place of Michael Nobbs until new appointment.

Kaushik, who retired as Deputy Director of Sports, Government of Haryana, has experience of training Indian teams. He had coached Indian men’s team to the Gold in 1998 Asian Games in Bangkok. Indian women’s team won bronze medal at the Doha Asian Games in 2006 under his coaching. Continue reading →

Hockey India announces High Performance and Development Committee for 2013-14

New Delhi, 8 April 2013: Hockey India announced its High Performance and Development Committee for 2013-14. The 15 member committee will be headed by Dr Narinder Batra (Secretary General of Hockey India) and Roelant Oltmans (High Performance Director, Hockey India) will be the Vice-Chairman.

Hockey India LogoThe committee has Ajit Pal Singh (former Captain of 1975 World Cup winning team), Col. Balbir Singh (former Olympian and National Selector), Dilip Tirkey (former Captain and Member Rajya Sabha), Sukhvir Singh Grewal, Thoiba Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Dr RP Singh, Surinder Kaur, Saba Anjum, Michael Nobbs (Chief Coach, National Senior Men Hockey Team), Neil Hawgood (Chief Coach, National Senior Women Hockey Team) and Gregg Clark (Coach, National Junior Men Hockey Team) as its members. Elena Norman, CEO, Hockey India will be the Convenor of this Committee. The Sports Authority of India will be the Invitee Members of this Committee. Continue reading →

Hockey India Appoints Roelant Oltmans As Director, High Performance

New Delhi, 17 December 2013: Hockey India announced the appointment of the vastly experienced Mr. Roelant Oltmans as Director, High Performance.

Roelant Oltmans

Roelant Oltmans

Hockey India Secretary General Dr Narinder Batra said that the appointment of Roelant Oltmans is an important step to ensure that a strategic program is in place for our senior and junior men and women teams.

“Hockey India has been looking for a candidate that not only has the experience of High Performance Management but also understands the unique attributes of working on the sub-continent. We are confident that Roelant will bring his vast experience and knowledge into this key position” he said. Continue reading →

Captain and Coaches for 8 WSH Teams Announced

World’s leading coach Roelant Oltmans will train the Delhi team while India’s top midfielder Sardara Singh has been appointed captain of Bhopal in World Series Hockey. Olympian Gold Medalist Brent Livermore will lead Chennai while former India captain Jude Felix will coach the Bengaluru team.

The appointments were made at a franchise workshop held today. The players for the eight teams will be finalized on Monday, November 28, based on the globally approved “Draft” system.

Jude Felix

Jude Felix to Coach karnataka Lions

The allocation of captains and coaches are as follows:
1. Bengaluru –Karnataka Lions: Lead by Arjun Halappa Coached by Jude Felix
2. Bhopal: Lead by Sardar Singh, Coached by V Bhaskaran
3. Chandigarh: Lead by Rehan Butt Coached by Harendra Singh
4. Chennai – Chennai Cheetahs: Lead by Brent Livermore Coached by Jose Brasa
5. Delhi: Lead by Lucas Vila Coached by Roelant Oltmans
6. Mumbai: Lead by Adrian D’Souza Coached by Andrew Meredith
7. Pune –Pune Strykers: Lead by Rodrigo Garza Coached by Gundeep Singh
8. Punjab: Lead by Prabhjot Singh Coached by Rajinder Singh

The Captains of WSH Teams

Continue reading →