Australian Hockey Squad for 2013 Azlan Shah Cup is Announced

The 2013 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup takes place at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh, Malaysia from March 9-17. The tournament is named after the ninth King of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, who was an avid hockey fan.

Rob Hammond

Rob Hammond: Most experienced player in the squad

The longest serving invitational tournament in the world will showcase six of the world’s best teams in a Round-Robin fixture.

Australia is the most successful team in history having won 6 titles, their most recent being in 2011.

Four nations from the 2012 Melbourne Champions Trophy will again meet, alongside two additional Asian nations. Continue reading →

Four Australian co-captains lead players signing up for Hockey India League

NEW DELHI, October 16: Several Australian hockey stars have joined their captain Jamie Dwyer in making themselves available for the prestigious Hockey India League. As many as four Australian co-captains Mark Knowles, Fergus Kavanagh, Liam de Young and Edward Ockenden will be part of the Hockey India League Players Auction to be held next month.

Hockey India Secretary-General and Hockey India League Chairman Dr Narinder Batra said the presence of a number of Australian stars would add to the quality of the league. It is our pleasure to unveil a star-studded list of Australian players who have signed contracts to be available for the Hockey India League Players Auction, he said. Continue reading →