Senior National Hockey Championship 2011: Pool Results



Senior National Hockey Championship 2011” is being organized jointly by Hockey India and Department of Sports, Madhya Pradesh. Pool results which are given below, will be updated everyday. Team codes mentioned in the details of Pools given below and – : – means match is not played yet. Sorry to say, you will need to scroll a lot to view the results as there total 8 pools and results are not arranged date wise.

Quarterfinalists: Punjab, Karnataka, Bihar, Air India, Jharkhand, Haryana, Indian Railways and Orissa.

It will be
Punjab Vs Bihar
Karnataka Vs Air India
Jharkhand Vs Indian Railways
Haryana Vs Orissa
in quarterfinals on 16th June, 2011.

Pools: Senior National Hockey Championship 2011 Continue reading →

Punjab are SubJunior (Under-17) National Hockey Champions

Punjab wins the Under – 17 Nationals, with a narrow defeat of Mumbai (2-1) — Press Release (8th June, 2011) (Source:

A seemingly innocuous error in judgement by Mumbai goalkeeper Karan Thakur paved the way for Punjab to annex the title in the Junior National Hockey Championships for boys under-17 with a 2-1 victory over the hosts. Ramandeep Singh of Punjab failed to trap cleanly a through pass from his colleague Harsahib Singh in the circle and Karan thinking that the ball was last played by one of his defenders allowed the ball to enter the goal much to the surprise of his team mates and the sizable crowd which had gathered at the MHA Mahindra Stadium expecting a good match. Continue reading →

Sub-Junior National Hockey Championship Finals: Hosts Mumbai to take on Punjab

Mumbai thrashed Rajasthan to score 8-0 victory and enter the final of the under 17 boys’ National Hockey Championship conducted by Indian Hockey Federation. While Punjab recorded a 2-1 victory over Karnataka in the other semifinal.

The goal-scorers for Mumbai in the match, where they led 4-0 at breather, were Nikhil Pujary (3), Jarryd Nunes (2), Ganendrajt Ranjit, Anup Valmiki and Moses Pullanthara, who scored a goal each. In the Punjab-Karnataka clash, the former led 2-0 through goals from Karan Kumar, off a penalty corner, and Navraj Singh. Karnataka fought back to reduce the margin in 53rd Minute through S A Basavaraj and then missed quite a few chances.

Finals will be played between Mumbai and Punjab on Wednesday (8th June, 2011) at the MHA-Mahindra Stadium, Mumbai.

The goal-getters for Mumbai in their resounding victory over Rajasthan were Nikhil Pujary (3), Jarryd Nunes (2), Ganendrajt Ranjit, Anup Valmiki and Moses Pullanthara, who scored a goal each.

Sub-Junior National Hockey Championship Semis: Mumbai Vs Rajasthan and Karnataka Vs Punjab

Mumbai and Punjab thrashed Chhattisgarh (9-2) and Tamil Nadu (7-0) respectively to enter into the semifinals of the under-17 National Hockey Championship at the MHA-Mahindra Stadium, Mumbai. Karnataka and Rajasthan are also in last four. While Karnatka got better of Chandigarh 2-1 and Rajasthan staged a magnificent recovery to outplay Bhopal 4-3, when Rajasthan recovered from 1-3 at 51st minute .

In the last-four stage, Mumbai will face Rajasthan and Karnataka will lock horns with Punjab. Continue reading →

65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup 2011: IOC are Champions

Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) lifted the 65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup by defeating its rival Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) by 3-2 in a thrilling final played at the floodlit Aishbagh Hockey Stadium in Bhopal (MP). While defending champion Air India secured third place by beating ONGC 4-3 in the play off match which went into extra time in the 65th edition of the reputed hockey tournament.


IOC Goalkeeper Baljit Singh saving a goal during a penalty corner against ONGC at Nehru Hockey 2010 Semis


Deepak Thakur (IOC Captain), The player of the final

Player of the tournament: Kothajeet Sigh (IOC)
Best Forward: Prabhjot Sigh (IOC)
Best Mid-fielder: Diwakar Ram (ONGC)
Best Defender: VR Raghunath (IOC)
Best Goalkeeper: Baljit Singh (IOC)

Man of the final: Deepak Thakur (IOC)
Man of the third place play-off: Vikram Pillay (Air India)

In the thrilling final, the IOC started aggressively and pumped three goals against a lackluster BPCL through Captain Deepak Thakur (12″ field goal), Ramanjeet Singh (19″ field goal) and VR Raghunath (28″ penalty corner). The BPCL players finally got their act together in the second half and attacked on IOC goal continuously to find Baljit Singh under the bar foil there attacks. But Gurpreet Signh of BPCL converted a penalty corners in 58″ and Jarnail Singh scored a field in the dying moment of the game. The IOC led by experienced forward and player of the final Deepak Thakur however managed to hold on to the lead and won the match 3-2. Continue reading →

65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup: Results and Schedule

Obaidullah_Gold_Cup_LogoResults and schedule of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey tournament will be updated regularly on this page. Keep visiting 🙂
(PoM-> Player of the Match)

31st May, 2011 (Final):
IOC Vs BPCL : 3-2 … IOC are the champions of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup 2011,
PoM: Deepak Thakur (IOC)
3rd Position: Air India Vs ONGC: 4-3, Air India finished at 3rd Position, PoM: Vikram Pillay (Air India)

30th May, 2011 (Semifinals):
Match 17 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Air India : 0-6, PoM: , Scorers: Ramandeep Singh (2), Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1) and Prabhjot Singh (1)
Match 18 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs ONGC : 2-1, PoM: Aamir Khan (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Jarnail Singh (1), Aamir Khan (1) and ONGC: Diwakar Ram (1)

Semi-finalist teams are:
Air India, ONGC, IOC and BPCL

29th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 15 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Indian Railway : 4-1, PoM: Khothajeet Singh (IOC), Scorers: IOC: Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1), Roshan Minz (1) and Indian Railways: Vivek Singh (1)
Match 16 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs Namdhari XI : 3-1, PoM: Sher Singh (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Gurpreet Singh (1), Amar Aiyamma (1), Sher Singh (1) and Namdhari XI: Gurpreet Singh (1)

28th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 13 at 6:45 PM: Air India Vs MP Academy : 8-0, PoM: Shivendra Singh (Air India), Scorers: Shivendra Singh (4), Sameer Dad (1), Prabodh Tirkey (1), Joga Singh (1) and Birendra Lakra (1)
Match 14 at 8:30 PM: ONGC Vs PNB : 4-1, PoM: Vivek Gupta (ONGC), Scorers: ONGC: Akashdeep (2), Vikash Topo (1), Vivek Gupta (1) and PNB: Yudhveer (1)

Quarter-finalist teams are:
Air India, PNB, Namdhari XI, IOC, ONGC, MP Academy, BPCL and Indian Railways Continue reading →