Summary of Format and Ragulations of Hero Hockey India League

Hero Hockey India League is here and will start tonight at 8:00PM IST, with the opening match between Sardar Singh’s Delhi Waveriders and Jamie Dwyer’s Jaypee Punjab Warriors

The four-week long five-team tournament will feature 120 players from India and around the world in 34 matches including 4 knock-out stage matches. Four of the five teams will play semi-finals, which will be decided on the basis on standings in league stage to be played on home and away basis.

Here, we have brought you the summary of rules of the tournament:

1)    Matches will be played under ‘FIH Rules of Hockey‘ applicable from January 1, 2013, including own goal.

2)    Teams to play each other three times on home-and-away basis. Two of four third head-on match will at home and other two away.

3)    Points will be awarded as follows:
Win: Five (5) points
Draw: Two (2) points Continue reading →