Coal India Hockey India League 2016: Schedule and Results

Coal India Hockey India League 2016

Coal India Hockey India League LogoTeams: Dabang Mumbai, Delhi Waveriders, Jaypee Punjab Warriors, Kalinga Lancers, Ranchi Rays and Uttar Pradesh Wizards

Venues: Bhubaneswar, Delhi, Chandigarh, Lucknow, Mumbai and Ranchi.
Live telecast details of Coal India Hockey India League 2016:
Star Sports 2, Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD 1, Star Sports HD 3 and HotStar in India. 
Live streaming online on

Points Table of Hockey India League 2016 is here:

Matches Goals
Rank Team Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Diff Points
1 Ranchi Rays 10 7 0 3 33 27 6 37
2 Jaypee Punjab Warriors 10 5 1 4 32 26 6 29
3 Delhi Waveriders 10 5 0 5 35 37 -2 27
4 Kalinga Lancers 10 4 1 5 39 36 3 25
5 Dabang Mumbai 10 4 0 6 34 35 -1 25
6 Uttar Pradesh Wizards 10 4 0 6 30 42 -12 23

The detailed schedule and results of Hockey India League 2016 here:

Playing with Fuchs will be big moment for Nikkin, Akash is sure of good learning experience at Ranchi Rays

The 2015 Hockey India League (HIL) Auction saw some young Indian players getting a better deal by franchisees as each wanted them in their team. One such player was Nikkin Thimmaiah who post consistent bidding by various franchisees was finally grabbed by Dabang Mumbai for $67,000/-. Being regarded as one of the exceptional upcoming goalkeeper, Akash Chitke feels privileged to be part of Ranchi Rays and is looking forward to a wonderful learning experience with his inclusion in the League.

Nikkin Thimmaiah (Indian Hockey Player)

Nikkin Thimmaiah

The Bengaluru-lad Nikkin Thimmaiah is remembered for his hat-trick against Australia in the 2015 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, where the striker helped his team to register a 4-2 win in the 3rd/4th Classification Match. The talented striker had been a key player of the Uttar Pradesh Wizards (UPW) for the last two seasons as he successfully helped complete the attacking line. With his new team, he will now rub shoulders with Gurmail Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Harmanpreet Singh along with German forward Florian Fuchs, Australian midfielder Matthew Swann and Irish goal-keeper David Harte in the upcoming editions. Continue reading →

Hockey India League Auctions: Teams went behind Germans and Young Indians

In the 2015 auction of Hockey India League, 6 franchisees picked their teams from 135 Indian and 136 foreign players. Germans were among the highest paid, while young Indian players were also sold like hot-cakes. German Captain Moritz Fürste bagged highest price i.e. $105,000, while Indian Forward Akashdeep Singh turned out to be highest paid Indian with the price tag of $84,000.

Moritz Fürste (Germany Captain) going under hammer in HIL Auction 2015, he crossed $100,000 mark in Hockey India League auction

Moritz Fürste (Germany Captain) going under hammer in HIL Auction 2015, he crossed $100,000 mark in Hockey India League auction

Continue reading →

HIL Auction on 17th Sept: No team from South India, 135 Indians and 142 Foriegners in Fray

Hockey India League (HIL) is conducting a fresh auction of players for the upcoming season of the League on September 17 at New Delhi. The six franchisee will bid for players from India, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA, England, South Africa, Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Scotland, Malaysia, Japan and Korea to complete their teams.

Birendra Lakra Ranchi Rays Hero Hockey India League 2015

Ranchi Rays has retained Indian Star defender Birendra Lakra for upcoming season of Hero Hockey India League 

This is going to be 4th season of HIL, but still there are no teams from South India, either of Chennai or Bangalore should have had a franchise in the league by now. In the interest of the game and for increasing its reach, hockey hotbeds like Karnataka and Tamil Nadu can not be ignored in important league like HIL, which has become one of the best league in world, however it is yet to spread its arms pan-India. Keeping the stadium attendances during World Series Hockey 2012 in mind, HIL organizers should try to get a franchisee from either of the cities specially Bangalore. Continue reading →

Ranchi Rays crowned champions of #HeroHIL 2015

Ranchi Rays emerged the Champions of Hero Hockey India League 2015 with a 3-2 win in shoot-out over Jaypee Punjab Warriors in the grand finale after coming back twice to keep scores level at 2-2 in regulation time at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi. Earlier in the evening, Delhi Waveriders defeated Uttar Pradesh Wizards by 2-1 to finish 3rd in the league.

Ranchi Rays: Champions of Hero Hockey India League 2015

Ranchi Rays: Champions of Hero Hockey India League 2015

The Grand Finale of Hero Hockey India League 2015 witnessed the presence of many eminent dignitaries. Arun Jaitley, Member Governing Council, Hero Hockey India League and Minister of Finance, Minister of Corporate Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting of India, Sarbananda Sonowal, Minister of Youth Affairs & Sports, Rajeev Mehta, Secretary General, IOA, Jan Albers, President of the Royal Dutch Hockey and Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad, Secreatary General, Hockey India. Continue reading →

Ranchi Rays in finals, after 9-8 win on sudden death over UP Wizards

The first Semi Final of the Hero Hockey India League 2015 saw intense competition between Uttar Pradesh Wizards and Ranchi Rays as they fought hard for a place in Final to be played tomorrow. At the end of regulation time of 60 minute (4 quarters of 15 minutes each) the scores were tied 1-1 resulting in a penalty shootout, which MS Dhoni’s team won.

Ranchi Rays celebrating their semi final win over Uttar Pradesh Wizards in Hero Hockey India League 2015

Ranchi Rays celebrating their semi final win over Uttar Pradesh Wizards in Hero Hockey India League 2015

The spectators and viewers on TV across the world, witnessed spectacular hockey as both the teams ensured that they did not give the other the chance to walk away with the game. The shoot-out was neck-neck until 2 rounds and in the third round Ranchi Rays’ outwitted the Wizards to come out winners on sudden death and became the first Finalist of the League 2015. The final score for the match is 1-1 (9-8 SO). Continue reading →