Lalit Joins Indian Team at the Hague to Replace Injured Ramandeep

The Hague, Netherlands, 26th May 2014:Indian forward Lalit Upadhyay arrived at The Hague, Netherlands today afternoon for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 replacing injured Ramandeep Singh.

Lalit Upadhyay at the Hague for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

Lalit Upadhyay at the Hague for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

India’s forward Ramandeep Singh got seriously injured while ball hit him during practice match played against Argentina yesterday. In the match, India lost to Argentina 1-2. Argentina scored 1 goal each in the 1st half and the 2nd half of the match. Only goal through India was scored by Dharamvir Singh in the second half of the match.

Ramandeep got multiple fractures in his right eye socket and cheekbone, after which he was immediately rushed to the hospital and got the surgery done. Today, he was discharged from the hospital and was advised complete rest by the doctors. He will have next medical review on 30th May 2014. All hockey fans and supporter wish him a speedy recovery.   Continue reading →

Complete 6 HIL Teams after Closed Bids, UP Wizards paid 81k USD for Ramandeep

Youngsters and Foreign players stole the show at the Hero HIL Closed Bids held today at Hotel the Lalit in New Delhi. In the Hero Hockey India League closed bid, a total of 49 players from Australia, New Zealand, Spain, Argentina, Ireland, England, South Africa and India were bought by the 6 franchises who spent a total of USD 1.37 million.

Ramandeep Singh (Indian Hockey Player)

Ramandeep Singh

Talented Indian Forward Ramandeep Singh was the top pick today and he was bought by UP Wizards by whopping price of USD 81,000, followed by Ryan Archibald of New Zealand who was acquired by Kalinga Lancers for USD 71,000/- while Nikkin Thimmaiah (India) and Trent Mitton (Australia) were bought for USD 59,000/- by UP Wizards and Dabur Mumbai Magicians Respectively.

Out of the total 154, the list of 49 players who were sold in the bid includes 28 Indians and 21 overseas players. The newly introduced franchise Kalinga Lancers from Odisha bought 24 new players while Ranchi Rhinos bought 1 player i.e. England Captain Barry Middleton, Dabur Mumbai Magicians 11 players, Uttar Pradesh Wizards 4 players, Jaypee Punjab Warriors 5 players and Delhi Waveriders 4 players. Continue reading →

Nikkin and Raman to Debut for India in Asia Cup 2013

11th Aug, 2013: Indian men’s hockey team was announced today for the 9th Men’s Asia Cup 2013 to played at Ipoh, Malaysia from 24 August to 1 September 2013. The winner of Asia Cup will qualify for the World Cup 2014 to held at the Hague, Netherlands.

Indian Men's Hockey Team Asia Cup 2013

Indian Men’s Hockey Team Asia Cup 2013

The 18 member squad, which will have two debutant in Ramandeep Singh and Nikin Thimmaiah, will be captained by midfielder Sardar Singh while goalkeeper P R Sreejesh will be the Vice-Captain.

In addition to talented youngsters Ramandeep and Nikkin, who were out of favor after they played for Chandigarh Comets and Pune Strykers respectively in World Series Hockey, Nithin, Mandeep and Malak will complete the attacking line of India. Since Danish Mujtaba, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, SV Sunil and Akashdeep Singh with miss the tournament due to injuries. Continue reading →

ONGC won KSHA – OZONE Group National Hockey League Championship 2011-12

ONGC won the KSHA – OZONE Group National Hockey League Championship 2011-12 with clear a margin of 5 points (27 points) from 2nd placed IOCL (22 points). ONGC who lost only one of their 10 matches in the league, was captained by Mandeep Antil. Second placed IOCL, lead by India’s experienced forward Deepak Thakur, finished the league with 22 points from 7 wins, 1 draw and 2 defeats. Air India finished 3rd with 21 points, while BPCL was placed at 4th place with 19 points.

ONGC: the Winners of KSHA – OZONE Group National Hockey League Championship 2011-12

ONGC: the Winners of KSHA – OZONE Group National Hockey League Championship 2011-12

Special Prizes:
Best Goal Keeper – Jagdeep Dayal – SAI
Best Defender – Ajay Saroha – BPCL
Best Half Back – Prabhakar – IAF
Best Forward – Ramandeep Singh – ONGC
Player of the Championship – Lalit Upadhyay – ONGC
Fair play Trophy – SAI, Bangalore. Continue reading →