Sher-e-Punjab: The Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

In the summit clash of Bridgestone World Series Hockey between Sher-e-Punjab and Pune Strykers (who defeated Karnataka Lions (4-1) and Chandigarh Comets (4-4 (3-2 PS)) enroute to finals respectively), it was strykers who started nicely and took lead through Tyron Pereira in the 4th Minute of game. Tyron’s slap shot from the baseline just inside the D, went into net after taking deflection from Harpreet Singh, the Shers’ defender.

Individual Awards:
WSH Rockstar (Rs 1 crore): Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets).
WSH Indian Superstar (Rs 50 lakh): Roshan Minz (Pune Strykers).
WSH Golden Stick (Rs 25 lakh): Syed Imran Warsi (Chennai Cheetahs) & Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets) (19 goals apiece).
WSH Game Changer (Rs 25 lakh): Shakeel Abbasi (Delhi Wizards).
WSH Rookie of the Year (Rs 10 lakh): Lalit Upadhyay (Bhopal Badshahs).
WSH Best Coach (Balkrishna Award): Rajinder Singh (Sher-e-Punjab).
Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

As usual, the Shers came out strongly as wounded Lions, as they not only denied room to Stykers’ strikers but also equalized within 2 minute in an indirect PC conversion, when Indian International VS Vinaya (who also plays in Spanish League) sent the ball into the nets. VS Vinaya, Mandeep Antil and Mathew Hotchkis did the hardwork in mid-field and set up many goal bound moves, but Gurpreet Guri (Stykers’ Goalie) stood tall in front of the nets, before Thakur sent the ball into the net after receiving a pass from Mathew Hotchkis just 2 minutes before Half Time.

Highlights of the Match Continue reading →

Captain and Coaches for 8 WSH Teams Announced

World’s leading coach Roelant Oltmans will train the Delhi team while India’s top midfielder Sardara Singh has been appointed captain of Bhopal in World Series Hockey. Olympian Gold Medalist Brent Livermore will lead Chennai while former India captain Jude Felix will coach the Bengaluru team.

The appointments were made at a franchise workshop held today. The players for the eight teams will be finalized on Monday, November 28, based on the globally approved “Draft” system.

Jude Felix

Jude Felix to Coach karnataka Lions

The allocation of captains and coaches are as follows:
1. Bengaluru –Karnataka Lions: Lead by Arjun Halappa Coached by Jude Felix
2. Bhopal: Lead by Sardar Singh, Coached by V Bhaskaran
3. Chandigarh: Lead by Rehan Butt Coached by Harendra Singh
4. Chennai – Chennai Cheetahs: Lead by Brent Livermore Coached by Jose Brasa
5. Delhi: Lead by Lucas Vila Coached by Roelant Oltmans
6. Mumbai: Lead by Adrian D’Souza Coached by Andrew Meredith
7. Pune –Pune Strykers: Lead by Rodrigo Garza Coached by Gundeep Singh
8. Punjab: Lead by Prabhjot Singh Coached by Rajinder Singh

The Captains of WSH Teams

Continue reading →

Know the Coaches for World Series Hockey

Recently World Series Hockey had announced the coaches for 8 teams, which best in the business. The group of coaches is headed by the world’s most successful hockey coach Roelant Oltmans (Holland) and it includes, four former India coaches, Harendra Singh, Rajinder Singh, Vasudevan Baskaran, Spaniard Jose Brasa , former India captain Jude Felix, recent India assistant coach Gundeep Singh and eminent foreign coach Andrew Meredith (Germany). The coaches have been selected from a list of highly talented professionals primarily based on their experience with international teams and their exposure to the sub continent conditions. Infact, they will play a key role in terms of advising the Franchisee during the all critical ‘draft process’ of player selection. Their brief profiles are as following:

Roelant Oltmans: Highly respected in international hockey, Oltmans has been involved with hockey for over two decades. During this period he has coached the Dutch men’s and women’s teams to World Cup titles and guided the men’s team to Olympic glory. Oltimans, who also coached the Pakistan team for a year, began his hockey career as a player with Pinoke Hockey Club in Amsterdam before concentrating on coaching. A member of the Orange All Stars, Oltmans was also involved in football, as a technical director of NAC Breda Football Club.

Jose Brasa

Jose Brasa

Jose Brasa: A good-humoured coach, Brasa was the chief coach of the Indian team in 2009 and within a year, brought changes to the game that were totally unprecedented. Under his guidance India won a medal for the first time at the Commonwealth Games and also won a bronze medal at the Asian Games; both achievements coming in 2010. Known as the architect of Spanish hockey, Brasa was involved with the Spanish Federation for almost two decades, taking care of technical matters; he coached the Spanish women’s team from 1984 to 1997 and won the gold medal at the Barcelona Olympics in 1992.

Harendra Singh (Chief Coach, Indian National Men's Hockey Team)

Harendra Singh

Harendra Singh: A recipient of the Shiv Chhatrapati Award by the Maharashtra government in 1990, Harendra has served Indian hockey in various coaching capacities for over a decade. Harendra’s first stint as a coach was in 1998, and since then has been involved with the team as a chief, national or an assistant coach. Guiding the junior team to a fourth-place finish in the 2005 Junior World Cup was one of his best achievements. The side narrowly missed out on a medal finish and several players from that team went on to represent the senior team. Continue reading →