Queensland Men Crowned 2012 Australian Hockey League Champions

Queensland has been crowned the 2012 Men’s Australian Hockey League Champions after defeating Western Australia 3-2 in the Grand Final at the National Hockey Centre in Canberra today.

Queensland : Australian Hockey League Champions (Source: Hockey Australia)

The best of Australian men’s hockey talent was on display in the Grand-Final of the Australian Hockey League when Queensland outlasted 2011 AHL Champions, Western Australia. In an exciting game between two masterful attacking teams, Queensland was dominant in the first half and led 2-1 at half time. At the post-final presentations, Queensland’s Matthew Swann was voted Player of the Final. Continue reading →

Queensland v Western Australia in the Final Men’s Australian Hockey League

Following today’s semi-finals in the Australian Hockey League at the National Hockey Centre in Canberra, Queensland will play 2011 AHL Champions WA in the grand-final which will be played tomorrow at 4.30pm.

Hockey Australia LogoQLD go in as hot favourites, boasting a plethora of Kookaburras players. Their eight Kookaburras will do battle against three international teammates representing NSW. Amazingly, QLD boast 5 Olympic Athens gold medalists in Jamie Dwyer, Mark Knowles, Captain Liam de Young, Rob Hammond and Troy Elder, and will lean on their wealth of experience in this big game. Continue reading →

Semi Finals awaits the Men’s Australian Hockey League

In the Australian Hockey League, the SA HotsShots caused a major upset when they beat the WA Thundersticks 2-1 and relegated the current AHL Champions to second place on the table. In the other matches, Queensland Blades defeated the Canberra Lakers 6-1, the Victorian Vikings and Tassie Tigers drew 2-all and a relentless New South Wales Waratahs defeated the SRA Territory Stingers 7-0.

Hockey Australia LogoAfter the preliminary rounds, the Queensland Blades finished on top of the table with 16 points followed by the WA Thundersticks and New South Wales on 15 points, with WA ahead on goal difference. Victoria finished fourth on 13 points, Tasmania fifth on 11 points and South Australia sixth on 9 points. The Canberra Lakers finished seventh on 3 points while in eighth place, a gallant Northern Territory Stingers finished on zero. Continue reading →