65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup 2011: IOC are Champions

Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) lifted the 65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup by defeating its rival Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) by 3-2 in a thrilling final played at the floodlit Aishbagh Hockey Stadium in Bhopal (MP). While defending champion Air India secured third place by beating ONGC 4-3 in the play off match which went into extra time in the 65th edition of the reputed hockey tournament.


IOC Goalkeeper Baljit Singh saving a goal during a penalty corner against ONGC at Nehru Hockey 2010 Semis


Deepak Thakur (IOC Captain), The player of the final

Player of the tournament: Kothajeet Sigh (IOC)
Best Forward: Prabhjot Sigh (IOC)
Best Mid-fielder: Diwakar Ram (ONGC)
Best Defender: VR Raghunath (IOC)
Best Goalkeeper: Baljit Singh (IOC)

Man of the final: Deepak Thakur (IOC)
Man of the third place play-off: Vikram Pillay (Air India)

In the thrilling final, the IOC started aggressively and pumped three goals against a lackluster BPCL through Captain Deepak Thakur (12″ field goal), Ramanjeet Singh (19″ field goal) and VR Raghunath (28″ penalty corner). The BPCL players finally got their act together in the second half and attacked on IOC goal continuously to find Baljit Singh under the bar foil there attacks. But Gurpreet Signh of BPCL converted a penalty corners in 58″ and Jarnail Singh scored a field in the dying moment of the game. The IOC led by experienced forward and player of the final Deepak Thakur however managed to hold on to the lead and won the match 3-2. Continue reading →

65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup: Results and Schedule

Obaidullah_Gold_Cup_LogoResults and schedule of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey tournament will be updated regularly on this page. Keep visiting 🙂
(PoM-> Player of the Match)

31st May, 2011 (Final):
IOC Vs BPCL : 3-2 … IOC are the champions of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup 2011,
PoM: Deepak Thakur (IOC)
3rd Position: Air India Vs ONGC: 4-3, Air India finished at 3rd Position, PoM: Vikram Pillay (Air India)

30th May, 2011 (Semifinals):
Match 17 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Air India : 0-6, PoM: , Scorers: Ramandeep Singh (2), Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1) and Prabhjot Singh (1)
Match 18 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs ONGC : 2-1, PoM: Aamir Khan (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Jarnail Singh (1), Aamir Khan (1) and ONGC: Diwakar Ram (1)

Semi-finalist teams are:
Air India, ONGC, IOC and BPCL

29th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 15 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Indian Railway : 4-1, PoM: Khothajeet Singh (IOC), Scorers: IOC: Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1), Roshan Minz (1) and Indian Railways: Vivek Singh (1)
Match 16 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs Namdhari XI : 3-1, PoM: Sher Singh (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Gurpreet Singh (1), Amar Aiyamma (1), Sher Singh (1) and Namdhari XI: Gurpreet Singh (1)

28th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 13 at 6:45 PM: Air India Vs MP Academy : 8-0, PoM: Shivendra Singh (Air India), Scorers: Shivendra Singh (4), Sameer Dad (1), Prabodh Tirkey (1), Joga Singh (1) and Birendra Lakra (1)
Match 14 at 8:30 PM: ONGC Vs PNB : 4-1, PoM: Vivek Gupta (ONGC), Scorers: ONGC: Akashdeep (2), Vikash Topo (1), Vivek Gupta (1) and PNB: Yudhveer (1)

Quarter-finalist teams are:
Air India, PNB, Namdhari XI, IOC, ONGC, MP Academy, BPCL and Indian Railways Continue reading →

65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament

The 65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament will be held in bhopal from May 23-31, 2011. A total of 12 teams, including Sapura Club, Malaysia and Bangladesh XI, would take part in the tournament. The teams are divided in four pools, which are as following:
obaidullah khanPool A: Air India, Sports Authority of India (SAI) and Punjab National Bank (PNB),
Pool B: Sapura Club (Malaysia), Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) and Namdhari Club,
Pool C: Bangladesh XI, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) and Madhya Pradesh State Hockey Academy,
Pool D: Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Indian Railways and Punjab Police. Continue reading →