Jharkhand Win Both Men and Women East Zone Sub-Junior Hockey Nationals

Jharkhand Men and Women teams defeated Odisha to emerge winners of the 3rd Hockey India Sub-Junior Men & Women National Championship (East Zone) played at Nagaon, Assam.

In women’s final, Diva Dung Dung and Betan Dung Dung scored twice each while their opponent Odisha failed to score, as Jharkhand registered victory over Odisha 4-0.

Jharkhand who led 3-0 at the half time scored through Divya Dung Dung (14th and 16th minute) and Betan Dung Dung in the 28th minute, while Betan Dung Dung scored another goal for Jharkhand in the 66th minute to complete the tally. Continue reading →

Hockey India to Spend Rs 1 Crore for Organising Nationals 2013, Dates and Hosts Announced

The hosts and dates for Hockey India National Championship 2013 has been announced for both men and women in the various age categories of senior, junior and sub-junior. Players born after 1 January 1994 and 1 January 1997 will be eligible for Junior and Sub-Junior Nationals respectively.

Sardar Singh Captain (Haryana) during Haryana Vs Puducherry on Day 3 of Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012

FIle Photo: Sardar Singh during Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012 (Photo by: Deepthi)

Hockey India provides a financial grant to support the hosts of National Championships in various categories. Hockey India has announced a total grant of Rs. 1.01 Crores for 2013 editions.

The Senior and Junior National Championships in Men’s category will be played at Pune (Maharashtra) and Rohtak (Haryana) respectively and they will get a grant of Rs. 20 Lakhs and Rs. 17 Lakhs respectively. The Junior and Senior Women’s National Championships will be hosted by Ranchi (Jharkhand) and Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) respectively, with the aid of Rs. 15 Lakhs and Rs. 18 Lakhs from Hockey India. Continue reading →