88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament Started

12 Sept, 2013: The 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament got underway today at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium, Egmore, Chennai, with Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) and Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) defeating South Central Railways (SCR) and Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) respectively.

Amar Aiyamma scored goal for BPCL

Amar Aiyamma scored a goal for BPCL

Tomorrow (13th September) IOCL will take on CAG at 2:15 PM in Pool A game, Air India face Indian Bank in Pool B game at 4:00PM and the day concludes with Army XI vs IOB game in Pool A at 5:45PM under floodlights.

IOB defeated SCR 6-3 in the first match of the tournament with help of a brace each from V Shanmugam and Vinod Rayaer and a goal each from Adam Sinclair and MK Muddappa, while SCR scored via Anmol Minz, Manjeet Kullu and Suresh Toppo. Gurpreet Singh found target twice while Amar Aiyamma added one more to make it 3-0 for BPCL against SAIL in the opening game of Pool B.

A total 10 participating teams are divided in 2 pools as following: Continue reading →

Air India and IOC share MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012

After 70 odd minutes of good hockey, 2 goals for each team, a few rounds of shootout and some umpires confabulations, Air India and IOC were declared the Joint Winners of the MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012.

VR Raghunath (IOC) : Player of the Tournament MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012

VR Raghunath (IOC) : Player of the Tournament

MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012 Prizes:
Winners: Air India and IOC
Player of the Tournament: VR Raghunath (IOC)
Best Forward: Joga Singh (Air India)
Best Midfielder: Vikas Pillay (Air India)
Best Defender/Goalkeeper: Gurpreet Singh (Air India)
Man of the Final Match: Hamza Mujtaba (IOC)

IOC looked strong in the first half which ended without any score.  IOC continued in the same way after returning from the lemon break.  Former international Hamza Mujataba scored in the 38th minute to earn a lead for his Team IOC and VR Raghunath found the target with a low flick penalty corner in the 54th minute to double the lead to 2-0. Continue reading →

IOC Set Up Final Against Air India: MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012

IOC (Indian Oil Corporation) defeated BPCL 4-3 in a tight match, the 2nd Semi Final of MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup 2012, to set up summit clash against Air India. In 1st Semi Final, Air India defeated defending champions ONGC by 1-0 to reach the finals of 87th edition of the tournament, which will be played at 5:00 PM on 16th September, 2012 at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium, Egmore, Chennai.

MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey 2012IOC lead 2-0 at half time with Hamza and Thimanna finding the target in 30th and 35th minute respectively. Tushar Khandekar pulled one back 5 minutes after the lemon break, but Deepak Thakur increased the lead 3-1 in 45th minute. V R Raghunath scored on a Penalty Corner to make it 4-1 in 67th minute. BPCL pulled two back through Hari Prasad and William Xalco (PC), but fell short of a goal, to see final score 4-3 in favor of IOC. Continue reading →