88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament Started

12 Sept, 2013: The 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament got underway today at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium, Egmore, Chennai, with Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) and Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) defeating South Central Railways (SCR) and Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) respectively.

Amar Aiyamma scored goal for BPCL

Amar Aiyamma scored a goal for BPCL

Tomorrow (13th September) IOCL will take on CAG at 2:15 PM in Pool A game, Air India face Indian Bank in Pool B game at 4:00PM and the day concludes with Army XI vs IOB game in Pool A at 5:45PM under floodlights.

IOB defeated SCR 6-3 in the first match of the tournament with help of a brace each from V Shanmugam and Vinod Rayaer and a goal each from Adam Sinclair and MK Muddappa, while SCR scored via Anmol Minz, Manjeet Kullu and Suresh Toppo. Gurpreet Singh found target twice while Amar Aiyamma added one more to make it 3-0 for BPCL against SAIL in the opening game of Pool B.

A total 10 participating teams are divided in 2 pools as following: Continue reading →