Olympic Qualification Tournaments: Indian teams will play in Delhi

The first of Olypic Qualification Tournaments (Men’s and Women’s) for London 2012 Olympics will be held in parallel from from 15th to 26th February 2012 in New Delhi, where both Indian teams will play the tournament in their final attempt to book the tickets for London Olympics.

An artist's impression of the Hockey Centre as it might look during the London 2012 Hockey competitions

An artist’s impression of the Hockey Centre as it might look during the London 2012 Hockey competitions

Indian men’s team will get competition from Canada, who are just one rank below in current FIH ranking, while women’s will have to over come the stiff competition from South African, who are not only one rank above Indian eves but also opted to go through the Olympic Qualification process even after qualifying for the Olympics through African Olympic Qualification tournament recently. This way, South Africa is replaced by Argentina (Las Leonas) as an automatically qualified team, because Las Leonas were the highest-ranked team that was not automatically qualified (because of the shocking defeat against United States in the finals of Pan American Cup 2011).

The six winners of the Olympic Qualification Tournaments will join the nine men’s teams and nine women’s teams that have already punched their ticket to London.
The men’s teams that are already qualified for the 2012 Games are (listed alphabetically): Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Germany, Great Britain, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.
The women’s teams
that are already qualified for London are: Argentina, Australia, China, Germany, Great Britain, Korea, Netherlands, New Zealand and the United States.

Details of Olympic Qualification quotas here.

The teams which will be playing the 1st Olympic Qualification tournaments in New Delhi are as listed below: Continue reading →