Netherlands women crowned Rabobank Hockey World Cup champions

The Netherlands have been crowned as winners of the Women’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014.

  • IOC President Thomas Bach joins FIH President Leandro Negre on stage for prize-giving ceremony
  • Eight-time World Player of the Year Luciana Aymar scores two in Argentina bronze-medal win
  • A capacity 15,000-member crowd cheered the Netherlands on to gold

International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Thomas Bach joined International Hockey Federation’s (FIH) President Leandro Negre on stage for the prize-giving ceremony in The Hague. President Bach travelled to the Netherlands along with many IOC members to witness FIH’s hugely successful showpiece.

Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 – Women: Final standings
Gold: The Netherlands; Silver: Australia; Bronze: Argentina; 4th: USA; 5th: New Zealand; 6th: China; 7th: Korea; 8th: Germany; 9th: South Africa; 10th: Japan; 11th: England; 12th: Belgium

Tournament Awards
Rabobank Best Player: Ellen Hoog, Netherlands
Hero Best Junior Player: Florencia Habif, Argentina
Interpolis Best Goalkeeper: Rachael Lynch, Australia
Hero Top Scorer: Maartje Paumen, Netherlands
Adidas Best Goal: Kim Lammers, Netherlands Continue reading →

India beat South Africa in Practice Game before RHWC2014

The Hague, Netherlands, 29th May 2014: In its last warm-up game for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 played against South Africa yesterday at The Hague, Netherlands, Team India displayed maturity and sense of purpose to achieve resounding victory over South Africa 4-1 after a 1-2 losing against Argentina on Monday.

Action during India vs South Africa practice match before Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 at the Hague

Action during India vs South Africa practice match before Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 at the Hague

India dominated the game from the very first half of the game itself, when Vice-Captain Rupinder Pal Singh made no mistake in converting a penalty corner opportunity and took a 1-0 lead over South Africa at the end of the first half. In the second half of the game, it was Rupinder Pal Singh again who successfully converted another penalty corner to further add on to the lead and take it to 2-0. Continue reading →

India men & Belgium women qualify for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

Australian success at Oceania Cup confirms latest teams for The Hague

India men and Belgium women have become the latest teams to qualify for next year’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The Hague (NED), the International Hockey Federation (FIH) can confirm.

Indian Men's Hockey Team: Champions Hockey World League 2 New Delhi 2013

File Photo: Indian Men’s Hockey Team after winning Hockey World League 2 New Delhi 2013

Their participation in next year’s showpiece event – which takes place in the hugely impressive 15,000 capacity Kyocera Stadium between 31 May and 15 June 2014 – was sealed following the completion of the men’s and women’s Oceania Cup continental championships in Stratford, New Zealand on Sunday. Continue reading →