India won Hockey World Cup 40 years ago by defeating Pakistan 2-1 in Kuala Lumpur

On 15th March 1975, exactly 40 years ago, the India’s Men Hockey team had won World Cup by defeating Pakistan 2-1 in the historic Finals of the 1975 Hockey World Cup. It was a moment of pride that day and it is a moment of pride for every Indian today, but India has failed to repeat the same feat again in these 40 years.

Cakes to celebrate 40th year of Hockey World Cup win at a get-together hosted by the captain of 1975 team Ajit Pal Singh

Cakes to celebrate 40th year of Hockey World Cup win at a get-together hosted by the captain of 1975 team Ajit Pal Singh

Watch the full recording of final match of 1975 Hockey World Cup Here.

After 3 medals in first editions, Bronze, Silver and Gold in 1971, 1973 and 1975 respectively, India has failed to make it to top four in next 10 editions till 2014. India will host the 14th edition of prestigious hockey event in 2018, we wish good luck to Indian Hockey team for the event and expect them to better their performance, when hosts best of the best hockey teams at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar.

Continue reading →

Indian Women should have gone to Europe instead of Malaysia!

In the preparation of Commonwealth Games 2014 in Glasgow, Indian Women’s Hockey team traveled to Kuala Lumpur to play a 6 match-series against Malaysia from June 9th to 17th.

Indian Women's Hockey Team in Malaysia

Indian Women’s Hockey Team in Malaysia

13th ranked India won all the matches to return home with 6-0 victory in the six-match series against 21st ranked Malaysia.

It would have been better if India had chosen to travel to Europe instead of Malaysia. India could have played two series 3-tests against either two of the Spain (14th World Rank), Scotland (16th), Azerbaijan (17th) and Ireland (15th) or may be a tri-nation series. India would have got better teams to play with in Europe hence better test of their preparations resulting in more learning. If not Europe, they could have played a series against good domestic sides such as Railway or Haryana or Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy. Continue reading →

Kuala Lumpur World Cup Heroes Felicitated

14 May 2014: Hockey India felicitated the Kuala Lumpur World Cup champions who represented India and brought home the only World Cup in the year 1975 on the occasion of the Indian Men Hockey Team announcement for the upcoming Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014.

Indian Hockey Team for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 with 1975 World Cup Winners

Indian Hockey Team for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 with 1975 World Cup Winners

India had defeated Pakistan in Final at Kuala Lumpur by 2-1 from 0-1 down to clinch India’s only World Cup title (Full match video of 1975 World Cup Final is available here). The felicitation cum team announcement event witnessed the presence of all the 13 Living legends alongwith the wives of Late Surjit Singh and Late Shivaji Parwar, brother of Late Mohinder Singh converge at the Hotel Holiday Inn, New Delhi. Hockey India felicitated each one of them with a one-time payment of Rs. 1,75,000. These legends then wished the entire team for the FIH World Cup and were even seen advising the players for the forthcoming tournament. Continue reading →

Living Legends of 1975 World Cup Winning Squad to be Felicitated

7 May 2014: The players who won only World Cup title for India will be felicitated on 14th May 2014, when the Indian team for Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 is to be announced.

India won its only World Cup title in the year 1975 at Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia (watch full final match between India and Pakistan here)

Hockey India has invited all 13 Living members of the 1975 World Cup winning team in the capital where they will be presented a token one-time payment of Rs. 1,75,000 each for their contribution towards ensuring that they brought home the pride to every Indian of being the World Champions that year. Continue reading →

India Won Bronze as Japan took Title of 8th Asia Cup (Women)

KUALA LUMPUR: Japan regained the Women’s Asia Cup title by defeating Korea in the final of 8th Women’s Asia Cup at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil, while India defeated the defending Champions China in shoot-out to clinch Bronze Medal.

Savita: The Best Goalkeeper in Asia Cup 2013 (Courtesy: Sports Analysis Service)

Savita: The Best Goalkeeper in Asia Cup 2013 (Courtesy: Sports Analysis Service)

Special Individual Awards:
Best player:  Kim Jong-eun ( Korea)
Best goalkeeper: Savita (India)
Most promising player: Wu Huang Yu (Chinese Taipei)
Top scorer: Kim Da-rae (Korea) – 9 goals
Player–of-the-final: Aki Mitsuhasi (Japan)

Japan, the champions of 2007 edition, had gone into the final with confidence against the three times champions Korea, but the Japanese side emerged as winners despite having lost to the Koreans in the group stage 3-0. Continue reading →

Japan Take on Korea in the Final of 8th Women’s Asia Cup

KUALA LUMPUR: Japan pulled a major upset when they defeated the defending champions China 4-1 in the semi-finals to set-up summit class against Korea in the 8th Women’s Asia Cup being played at the National hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

China vs Japan in the Semi Final of 8th Women's Asia Cup in Kuala Lumpur

The Japanese scored a convincing 4-1 victory over the defending Champions China, while three times champions Korea pipped Silver Medalists of 2009 Asia Cup India by 2-1 in the semi-finals.

Japan coach You Seung-jin said that he was looking forward to the game against Korea in the final as they want to take revenge for the group defeat, where Korea won 3-0. Continue reading →