Canadian Junior National Field Hockey Teams qualify for 2013 Junior World Cup

SEPTEMBER 20, 2012:  Canada qualifies for 2013 Junior World Cup: Men and Women move on to finals of Pan American Junior Championships

In outstanding team performances today, the Canadian Men’s and Women’s Junior National Field Hockey Teams have qualified for the 2013 Junior World Cup and moved into the finals of the 2012 Pan American Junior Championships.

Canada Junior Men's Hockey Team Celebrating their Qualification for World Cup 2013

Canada Junior Men’s Hockey Team Celebrating their Qualification for World Cup 2013

Canada’s Junior Women took the field against Chile early this afternoon.  With the support of a loud Canadian fan section and a ticket to the Junior World Cup on the line – this team played with grit and determination.  Holly Stewart scored the first goal of the match, but Chile quickly responded to even the score.  With a 1 – 1 tie at halftime, the second half was up for grabs.  A field goal by Jessica Buttinger just two minutes into the half gave Canada the edge.  Caashia Karringten’s goal off a penalty corner in the 57th minute followed by a strong Canadian defense gave the Junior Women a solid 3 – 1 win.  Continue reading →

Good to be back in the Games Village after years: Ignace Tirkey

Ignace Tirkey is looking ahead for good games

Ignace Tirkey is looking ahead for good games

2010 Padmashree Awardee, Ignace Tirkey feels good to be back in the games village after 6 long years. Last time, he experienced the environment of the games village when he captained the Indian Men’s Hockey team in Melbourne for the Commonwealth Games 2006. He missed the 2010 Commonwealth and Asian Games due to injury. Sandeep Singh and Ignace Tirkey are the only two members of current squad who represented India at the Athens Olympics in 2004.

India’s most experienced Hockey Player at London Olympics, Ignace told, “Current team has a good team spirit and works as a unit. The team is encouraged to put up their best efforts in the Olympics.” For the former captain of India, who plays for Services/Army in domestic circuit, reaching the podium is the target at Riverbank Arena. Continue reading →

Big changes afoot for National Under 21 Tournament

Some big changes are coming to the 2012 National Under 21 Tournament, which is set to take place at the Gallagher Hockey Centre in Hamilton from 7-12 May.

Hosted by Waikato Hockey, the tournament will see a change to the format with two pools of four, which was the same format used at the Owen G Glenn FIH Men’s Champions Trophy last year. This replaces the format from last year which was a round robin followed by finals.

The very popular Penalty Shoot-out Competition will again be used at this year’s tournament in the event of any drawn games.

Similar to the National Hockey League, the tournament will this year see Men’s and Women’s teams representing the eight regions from Northland to Southern competing for the national title. The combined team previously known as Northern, has split to allow teams from Northland and North Harbour to compete as independent regions. Continue reading →