Ritu to Lead Indian Eves for Asia Cup 2013, Kuala Lumpur

6 September 2013: Indian Senior Women’s Hockey team will be lead by Ritu Rani for the 8th Women’s Asia Cup to be played at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 21-27 September 2013.

Indian Women's Team celebrating their Hockey World League Round 2 Win in New Delhi

Chanchan Devi Thokchom (88 caps) will be the Vice-Captain of the 18 member team, which will see the return of Joydeep Kaur and Soundarya Yendala to the team.

On asking about the comeback, Joydeep told thefansofhockey.com, “I am feeling really good to make a come back in the team and I will put my best efforts for the team.”

Selectors B P Govinda, Surinder Kaur, Mamta Kharab, Chief Coach Neil Hawgood, Coach I S Gill and Scientific Advisor Matthew Tredrea alongwith Government Observer Harbinder Singh selected the list of 18 players and 6 standbys during the selection trials conducted at NSNIS Patiala on 30 and 31 August 2013.

Continue reading →

Sandeep Singh and Sardar Singh are Nominated for Khel Ratna 2013

Former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh and current captain Sardar Singh have been nominated for the most prestigious sports award in India i.e. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh is recommended by his state “Haryana” government while his state-mate Sardar Singh is nominated by Hockey India.

Sardar Singh Captain (Haryana) during Haryana Vs Puducherry on Day 3 of Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012

File Photo: Sardar Singh Captain (Photo by: www.deepthiindukuri.com)

Hockey India has also recommended Selector and Olympian Syed Ali for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2013.

Danish Mujtaba (Captain of the Indian Men Hockey Team during the 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, Malaysia in March 2013), VR Raghunath (Current Vice-Captain of Indian Men Hockey Team), forward Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chetri (former Indian Captain) have been recommended for the Arjuna Award 2013 in the men’s category. Continue reading →

Ansuta Lakra to Lead Indian Eves in “Hero FIH Road to London” Olympic Qualifiers

Hero FIH Road To London Logo

Hero FIH Road To London Logo

Asunta Lakra will be leading the 18-member Indian team for the women’s hockey 2012 Olympic qualifier “Hero FIH Road to London” at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium from Feb 18-26, while experience defender Joydeep Kaur returns to the action after being on sidelined for months due to injury.  The team was selected after national selector observed the players in the recently concluded hockey Test series against Azerbaijan in New Delhi.

Canada, Italy, Poland, South Africa and Ukraine are the other participating teams besides India. India will open their campaign against Ukraine on Feb 18. They will next face Canada (Feb 19), Poland (Feb 21), South Africa (Feb 22) and Italy (Feb 24) in the round robbin stage of the tournament and first two placed teams will play final whose winner will qualify for London Olympics.

Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita Continue reading →