FIH announce the winners of the FIH 2014 Player of the Year

  • FIH 2014 International Players of the Year – Mark Knowles and Ellen Hoog
  • FIH 2014 Goalkeepers of the Year – Jaap Stockmann and Joyce Sombroek
  • FIH 2014 Rising Stars of the Year – Gonzalo Peillat and Florencia Habif

15 January 2015: The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is delighted to announce the winners of the FIH 2014 Player of the Year Awards.

The Awards comprised six categories in the search for the very best players in the world during 2014.  A shortlist was compiled for each category by an expert panel of hockey professionals.  And then the voting began. Continue reading →

Kookaburras Captain Knowles Named International Player of the Year

Australian men’s hockey captain Mark Knowles has been named as the sport’s International Player of the Year for 2014. In the award was announced by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Thursday, Dutch superstar Ellen Hoog has been unveiled as the women’s International Player of the Year for 2014.

Mark Knowles Australia Kukaburras Captain

Mark Knowles (Australia Captain) named International Player of Year for 2014

The International Goalkeeper of the Year titles were dominated by the Netherlands players as Jaap Stockmann and Joyce Sombroek took the respective titles. While, previously called the Young Player of the Year, the International Male and Female Rising Stars of the Year both went to Argentina with Gonzalo Peillat and Florencia Habif scooping the Awards respectively.

The 30 year-old from Rockhampton, Queensland, topped the polling after leading the Kookaburras to dual gold medal success as Australia clinched the World Cup and Commonwealth Games titles within six weeks of one another. Continue reading →

Spectacular start to Hero Hockey India League; Delhi Waveriders launch campaign with a victory

New Delhi, 14 January 2013: Hosts Delhi Waveriders launched their campaign in the Hero Hockey India League with a comfortable 2-1 victory over Jaypee Punjab Warriors at the Major Dhyanchand National stadium here on Monday.

Germany’s Oskar Deecke (14th min) and Gurwinder Singh Chandi (22nd) found the net for the winners while Australian Keiran Govers (42nd) scored the consolation goal for the visitors.

Captains of 5 HIL Teams during Opening Ceremony

Captains of 5 HIL Teams during Opening Ceremony

Before the tournament opener, a laser show light up the Delhi sky and the spectators witnessed a special performance from figure skaters Alifya and Yuri and daredevil stunts of Jeenea set the tempo for the inaugural edition of the tournament and the sizeable crowd at the National stadium was hoping for a quality encounter in the opening match of the inaugural edition of Hero HIL and the teams did not disappoint. Continue reading →

World’s Highest capped Teun de Nooijer is set to join Hockey India League Player’s Auction

New Delhi, November 15: Teun de Nooijer, 36 is the highest capped player in the world who represented The Netherlands in 453 international matches is among the eight stars from the country who will feature in the player’s auction to be held in December in New Delhi for the most prestigious Hockey India League in January next year.
Teun de Nooijer (Netherlands)

File Photo: Teun de Nooijer (Netherlands)

Dutch Midfielder Teun de Nooijer who made his debut in 1994 against New Zealand has always been a key member of the Dutch team that participated in 4 Olympic Games including Atlanta 1996 (Gold), Sydney 2000 (Gold), Athens 2004 (Silver) and London 2012 (Silver) with three World Cups including Utrecht 1998 (Gold), Kuala Lumpur 2006 (Bronze) and New Delhi (Bronze). Having earned FIH World Player of the year award in 2003, 2005 and 2006 Teun de Nooijer participated in as many as nine Champions Trophy tournaments since 2000.

Floris Evers, skipper of the Silver medal winning Netheralands team during Olympic Games in London this year is also set to join the league. With 230 caps, the 29 year old Floris Evers has a vast experience in the dutch side. He has been key member of the Netherlands team that won silver medal during Athens Olympic Games 2004. Also he was continuous member of The Netherlands team during the Champions Trophy from 2004 to 2007. Continue reading →