De Young, Turner, Butturini & Wilson return to Kookaburras for Hockey 9s & Oceania

Hockey Australia has announced two Kookaburras squads ahead of next week’s International Super Series Hockey 9s tournament in Perth and the Oceania Cup in Taranaki, New Zealand later this month.

Hockey Australia LogoThe squads feature a number of notable inclusions; amongst them, the return from injury of three-time Olympic medal winning defender Liam De Young (QLD), who hasn’t played for the Kookaburras since the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Some of the game’s biggest names will step out for the innovative 9-a-side International Super Series, which begins next Thursday and will be broadcast on ABC 1. Continue reading →

Hockeyroos Squad Announced for Hockey 9s and Argentina Test Series

Announcing Australia‘s Women’s Hockey team, Hockeyroos squad for next week’s International Super Series and Tests against World Champions Argentina, Head Coach Adam Commens says he will use the contests to set his side up for the forthcoming Oceania Cup and World League Finals.

Hockey Australia LogoCommens today named his squad for the innovative 9-a-side International Super Series, which gets underway at Perth Hockey Stadium a week on Thursday and will be shown on ABC 1.

Amongst a host of star names in the 18-athlete squad, three of the Hockeyroos’ London Olympians are set to return with Jade Close (NSW), Kobie McGurk and Jayde Taylor (both WA) included. For McGurk and Taylor, selection marks a welcome conclusion to lengthy spells sidelined through injury. Continue reading →

Super Series Hockey 9s Line Up Complete, No India in this edition

Hockey Australia has announced line-up for hockey’s 2013 International Super Series Hockey 9s, which will played from 17 to 20 October 2013 at Perth Hockey Stadium, Perth (WA).

International Super Series Hockey 9s

In the third edition of the tournament, 4 men’s and 4 women’s teams will be looking for the top honors. The innovative format of the tournament, has 9 players in a team on pitch with wider goal posts to create free flowing and entertaining hockey with high scoring opportunity.

Australia’s Hockeyroos will be joined by Canada, Malaysia and world champions Argentina in the women’s competition in Perth, WA. The line-up for the men’s tournament sees Australia’s world champ Kookaburras go up against Argentina, Pakistan and Malaysia, but India, who played in first two editions of the tournament, will give it a miss this edition. Continue reading →

England Beat India 2-1 in their Opener of International Super Series Hockey 9s

England got off to a great start in the International Super Series Hockey 9’s with a victory over India at the Perth Hockey Stadium. India had initially gone one goal up early on, but over the shortened period of 40 minutes England were the more dominant side coming back to win 2-1. Hampstead and Westminster’s Dan Fox pulled the first goal back to draw level and Loughborough Students’ David Condon made sure of the three points. The win puts them second behind Australia, who had earlier seen off Pakistan 4-2.

2012 Perth International Super Series 9'sThe game saw Beeston’s Adam Dixon take up the captaincy as HGC’s (NED) Barry Middleton watched from the sidelines following a slight calf strain sustained during a league match last weekend.

England looked to have come out the blocks quicker than India, demonstrating their strength on the ball and grasping the tactical differences in the game well. However it was India, against the run of play, who found the target first. In the 4th minute Chandi picked up the ball in the circle and fired home from 12 yards out with pin point accuracy into the corner past Beeston goalkeeper George Pinner. The larger goals, which stand one metre wider than a normal hockey goal, left Pinner with little chance of saving. Continue reading →

Rules for the Lanco International Super Series

In addition to the topline rules that have been mentioned for the Lanco International Super Series, fans are encouraged to read over all the rules to ensure you are across all the action while watching the tournament!

Lanco International Super Series

Lanco International Super Series

New rules for the International Super Series include:
• Each match consists of two 15 minute halves (instead of 2×35 minute halves) with only 5 minutes break for halftime
• All teams have a maximum of 9 players on the field (instead of 11 players)
• One player from each team must remain in the forward half at all times
• Each team can use up to 18 players (instead of 16)
• The penalty situations have been simplified to make it more broadcast friendly and easier to understand for new viewers: Continue reading →