Rs. 10 Crores prize money in WSH,Champions to get 4 Crores

The champion team of the inaugural World Series Hockey will get Rs four crore as prize money while the runners-up will be richer by two crore. Total prize money adds to Rs 10 crore and according to WSH organizers they are offering the highest ever prize money for any Hockey event in the world. WSH will feature around 50 players from foreign players in addition to India’s top 150 players.

world series hockeyWorld Series Hockey prize money for the teams are
Champions : INR 4 Crores (40 Million)
Runners Up : INR 2 Crores (20 Million)
3rd Place : INR 1 Crore (10 Million)
4th Place : INR 1 Crore (10 Million)
All WSH franchises have committed to sharing a minimum of 50% of their team winnings with the players.

In addition to the team prize money, there are several individual awards recognizing match winners and stars are as following:
WSH Rockstar (Most Valuable Player) : INR 1 Crore (10 Million)
Indian Super Star (Star Indian Player) : INR 50 lakhs (5 Million)
Golden Stick (Highest Goal Scorer) : INR 25 lakhs (2.5 Million)
Game Changer (Best Midfielder, Defender or Goal Keeper) : INR 25 lakhs (2.5 Million)
Rookie of the Year (Best emerging player under 21) : INR 10 lakhs (1 Million)

In fact the champion team in WSH stands to win almost 30 times more prize money, as compared to the Euro Hockey League, the leading domestic Hockey league in Europe. Yannick Colaco, COO of Nimbus Sport said, “This is a definite game changer for hockey players in India and across the world. WSH has ensured that the time for hockey players to take centre stage is finally here.”

150 Top Indian Players Sign up for WSH: Press Release

150 Indian players, including all the top stars from the current national team have signed on and received advanced payments to play in World Series Hockey. Four of these stars will be captains in the inaugural edition of the tournament. This list includes ‘Rushing’ Goalkeeper Adrian D’Souza, Playmaker Arjun Halappa, Speedy Forward Prabhjot Singh, and ’All Star’ Sardar Singh. The other star Indian players include Ace Drag Flicker Sandeep Singh, Rajpal Singh, super talented goalkeeper Bharat Chetri and emerging champion Yuvraj Walmiki. Continue reading →