Karnataka Won their Maiden Title of Senior Men’s Hockey Nationals to Lift Rangaswamy Cup

The 64th edition of the Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup concluded today at the KSHA Hockey Stadium, Bangalore, with hosts Karnataka lifting the cup for the first time in the history of the tournament, while defending champions Mumbai finished third.

Karnataka: The Champions of 64th Senior Men's National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup

Karnataka: The Champions of 64th Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup

Then Mysore, Karnataka had entered into the final in the year 1968 and became runners-up then has now created history by winning the 64th edition by beating Uttar Pradesh 3-1. In the third place match, Mumbai matched Punjab and snatched the third place in penalty shoot-out on sudden death, after having equal scores of 2-2 (after full-time), 4-4 in penalty shoot-outs, while in sudden death shoot-out, Mumbai Goalkeeper Sudhir Dixit saved as he faced Balwinder Singh and their Captain Victo Singh scored to finish third. Continue reading →

Ranchi Rhinos Stun Delhi Waveriders to Clinch Hero Hockey India League Trophy

Ranchi, 10 February 2013: Ranchi Rhinos defeated Delhi Waveriders 2-1 in a cracker of a game to win the first ever Hero Hockey India League, earlier in the day Uttar Pradesh Wizards came from behind (0-3) to beat (4-3) Jaypee Punjab Warriors to finish third, at Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi on Sunday.

The Waveriders went ahead with a fine strike by Simon Child, Austin Smith drew the hosts level through a drag flick on a PC with a little bit of variation. And in the final quarter, Manpreet Singh’s strike on PC sealed the title for the hosts, who had 12th man with them i.e. a packed capacity crowd.

Hockey India League 2013 Awards:

WINNERS (Prize Money Rs 2,50,00,000/-): Ranchi Rhinos
RUNNERS-UP (Prize Money: Rs 1,25,00,000/-): Delhi Waveriders
Third Place (Prize Money: Rs 75,00,000/-): Uttar Pradesh Wizards

Fair-Play Award: Ranchi Rhinos

Hero Player of the Tournament ( Rs 25,00,000/-): Sardar Singh
‘Ponty Chadha Trophy’ for Upcoming Player of the Tournament ( Rs 20,00,000/-): Mandeep Singh

‘Airtel Award’ for Most Goals in the Tournament ( Rs 10,00,000/-): Delhi Waveriders

Continue reading →

Tickets for Final 4 Matches of Hockey India League are on Sale

New Delhi, 04 February 2013: The Hero Hockey India League has started selling tickets for the final four play-off matches that includes two Semi-Finals, 3rd place play off and a Final to be played on 9th and 10th February in Ranchi.

Hero Hockey India League Logo

The tickets are available at www.ticketgenie.in (Semis and Finals) website and being sold at Gate No.2 of the Birsa Munda Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi, i.e. the venue of finals to be played on 9th and 10th Feb, for the spectators from today onwards.

The tickets for Semi-Finals are priced at Rs. 60/- and Rs. 100/-
and for Finals at Rs. 100/- and Rs. 150/-. Continue reading →

Hosts Malaysia won Sultan of Johor Cup, India returns empty handed

The hosts Malaysia won the inaugural edition of Sultan of Johor Cup 2011 by beating Australia 3-2 on golden goal at the Taman Daya Stadium in Johor Bahru, while India fought back gallantly to draw level on two occasions, only to lose out in extra time 4-3 in Bronze Medal game. Harpeet Singh, Amit Rohidass and Satbir scored for India, while the Indian goalie palmed a penalty stroke in the last minute of regulation time to take the match in extra time. Indian team looked good in the patches through out tournament. They scored 4 goals in the first half and conceded 6 in second half against Korea in the opening match, played a good game against Aussies, then won against New Zealand and thrashed Pakistan 5-1 to keep themselves in the race for finals, but were at receiving ends in the last league against hosts Malaysia to get spanked by 5-1.

sultan-of-johor-cup-2011Roll of Honour
Champion: Malaysia
Runners-up: Australia
Third: South Korea
Fourth: India
Fifth: Pakistan
Sixth: New Zealand

Man-of-the-match (final): Mohamed Hazrul Faiz (Malaysia)
Best player of tournament: Mohamed Fitri Saari (Malaysia)
Best goalkeeper: Mohamed Hazrul Faiz (Malaysia)
Top scorer: Mohamed Noor Faeez (Malaysia) – seven goals.
Fairplay Trophy: New Zealand

Dont miss to read the article Who the hell Harpreet Singh is? by stick2hockey.com’s deep eye.
…As far as Hockey India is concerned, it seems, participating in WSH is the only indiscipline act, rest all fine. Even if it meant a novice like Harpreet is walking out the camp, and happily coming back to the team, and carries his weight more than the coaches and manager! …


Korea needed a golden goal to subdue India in the fight for the 3rd and 4th spot in the Sultan of Johor Cup at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium. Though Korea were 2-0 up, India fought back gallantly to draw level on two occasions, only to lose out in extra time. Korea opened scoring in the 7th minute through You Seung Seok who powered a drag flick into the roof of the Indian net. And in the 13th minute Korea went 2-0 ahead thanks to Yoon Dong Hyeon who scored his sixth goal of the tournament. India were shocked and reduced the deficit when Harpreet Singh converted a penalty stroke. And in the 28th minute India were on level terms when Amit Rohidass converted a penalty stroke. And India could well have taken the lead in the 30th minute but the effort by Devinder  Sunil Walkimi hit the upright and bounced to safety. Continue reading →