The Fans of Hockey Calendars for 2013 are here!!!

Continuing with our custom of bringing out wallpaper calendars every year, we are ready with our 2013 calendars. This time we have designed 2 calendars.

2013 Calendar by The Fans of Hockey: If you want a hard copies (A3 Size) of these calendar delivered to your doorsteps, then write to thefansofhockey[at] with your detailed postal address, contact number, etc along with code and number of copies you want.

A sneak-peak into earlier editions: Continue reading →

Top Performers of Senior Hockey National Championship to Receive NANO

Bangalore, Sept 27: In a rare gesture, Hockey Karnataka have decided to present a Tata Nano car each to the best defender, best forward and best player in the ongoing Hockey India’s second senior National men’s hockey championship here.

The three award winners will be selected by a panel comprising Olympians MM Somaya, N Mukesh Kumar and Dilip Tirkey besides a yet to be nominated journalist, according to Hockey Karnataka’s secretary AB Subbiah. Continue reading →

Change of Habits for India from Conceding to Scoring in Dying Moments?

The performance of Indian team has been improving slowly and steadily since last Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. India cherished some moments in Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011 when they defeated Great Britain, drew with last World Champions Australia, but to falter in second half of the tournament which includes Black Sticks’ biggest win against India 7-3 in league stage and finishing 6th.

Chief Coach Michael Nobbs

Chief Coach Michael Nobbs

The result of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011 has changed a lot of things in Indian hockey (read on, including appointment of current Chief Coach Michael Nobbs. Under Nobbs, team’s performance has improved, which can be seen from the title winning performance at Asian Champions Trophy 2011 and qualifying for Olympics in style (defeated France 8-1 in final). But one area still needs improvement, i.e. India’s old problem of succumbing under the pressure in dying moments of game and conceding equalizer or losing goal, for example, the Final of Champions Challenge I in South Africa (lost to Belgium 3-4, conceded a goal in 70th minute), Semi Final of Asian Games 2010 against Malaysia (lost in extra time 3-4 after conceding equalizer in 67th minute). Similarly, India played well against Germany in Visa International Invitational Hockey Tournament at Riverbank Arena, only to concede a goal in 65th minute and lost 2-1.  Continue reading →

Sketches (Caricatures) of Hockey Players

Here we present you some sketches (caricatures) of hockey players, sketched by Mr Naseeb Singh of Hanumangarh(Rajasthan). We thank him for his gesture towards hockey players and allowing us to use his work on our website.
We have included Sachin Tendulkar’s sketch as a surprising element for all of his fans 🙂

The Fans of Hockey Calendar 2012 #2: Dedicated to Dilip Tirkey

We bring to you the second calendar of 2012 (the London Olympic Year) which dedicated to Indian Hockey’s star defender (the wall of Hockey) Dilip Tirkey.

Our earlier calendars are:
2012#1 The Fans of Hockey Calendar 2012 #1
2011#1. Calendar 2011
2011#2. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Women’s Team and
2011#3. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Men’s Team )

Continue reading →

FIH Champions Challenge I – 2011 (Women’s): Saba Anjum to Lead India

Saba Anjum

Saba Anjum

Experienced striker Saba Anjum will lead the Indian women’s hockey team in the Champions Challenge I tournament to be held in Dublin, Ireland from June 18-26 after regular skipper Surinder Kaur opted out of the event citing family problems.

The team was picked up by Hockey India selectors BP Govinda, Syed Ali, Rekha Bhide, Rajbir Kaur and Sita Mehta and government observers Harbinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey  after trials held recently. The 18-member squad comprises of seven forwards, two goalkeepers, three defenders and six mid-fielders. But the missing name is Mamta Kharb, who have been out of action last year because of injury. But its not clear why she is not picked up this time as she attended the camp for tournament held in Delhi, while she could have been best option to replace Surinder Kaur in Indian forward line.

Eight teams have been divided in two pools and the matches will be conducted on a league-cum-knockout format (detailed schedule here).  India will play with Spain, Azerbaijan and hosts Ireland in Pool B and Pool A has Japan, South Africa, United States and Scotland.

Indian team will play their first match of the challenge against host Ireland on June 18, followed by matches against Spain on June 19 and Azerbaijan on June 21. The semifinals and final of the event will be played on June 25 and 26.

Squad: Continue reading →