Sandeep Singh and Sardar Singh are Nominated for Khel Ratna 2013

Former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh and current captain Sardar Singh have been nominated for the most prestigious sports award in India i.e. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh is recommended by his state “Haryana” government while his state-mate Sardar Singh is nominated by Hockey India.

Sardar Singh Captain (Haryana) during Haryana Vs Puducherry on Day 3 of Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012

File Photo: Sardar Singh Captain (Photo by:

Hockey India has also recommended Selector and Olympian Syed Ali for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2013.

Danish Mujtaba (Captain of the Indian Men Hockey Team during the 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, Malaysia in March 2013), VR Raghunath (Current Vice-Captain of Indian Men Hockey Team), forward Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chetri (former Indian Captain) have been recommended for the Arjuna Award 2013 in the men’s category. Continue reading →

Danish Mujtaba to Lead Indian Men’s Hockey Team at Azlan Shah Cup 2013

NEW DELHI, 6 February 2013: Hockey India has announced Indian senior men’s team for the 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to be played from 6-17 March 2013 at Ipoh in Malaysia.

Fitness Training: Danish Mujtaba

File photo: Danish in fitness training session at SAI Bangalore

The 18 member squad will be lead by Danish Mujtaba, while PR Sreejesh will be the vice-captain.

According to Hockey India press release the team is selected by selector Syed Ali, Chief Coach Michael Nobbs and Exercise Physiologist Jason Konrath alongwith Government Observer Harbinder Singh on the basis of performance of the players in the ongoing Hero Hockey India League. Continue reading →