Australia Women’s Squad for Hockey Junior World Cup is Named, Has 7 Hockeyroos

Hockey Australia has announced the 20 member Australian Women’s Under 21 Squad, Jillaroos, for the Junior World Cup to be played in July 2013 at Mönchengladbach, Germany. All the 20 athletes will travel to Europe, while final 18 will be confirmed as the final tournament squad just before the start of the competition.

Hockey Australia LogoHead coach Craig Victory names seven members of the senior Hockeyroos side in his squad, including recently crowned World Young Player of the Year Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT) and Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC), the youngest player to play 100 games for Australia. Jade Warrender (Orange, NSW) has been included having had to withdraw from the Hockeyroos’ World League squad late last week with a mild hamstring tear. She is expected to resume full training in the next fortnight. Jane Claxton, Jordyn Holzberger, Karri McMahon and Emily Smith make up the Jillaroos’ Hockeyroos contingent. Continue reading →