India defeated Pakistan to Win 1975 Hockey World Cup

38 Years ago, when most of the current hockey players and fans were not born, India defeated defending champions Pakistan to win their only World Cup title on 15th March 1975 in Kuala Lumpur. On the way to final India defeated reigning Olympic Champions Germany in pool stage and hosts Malaysia in the Semi-Final in extra time.

A complitation about India’s only World Cup Title

Watch Full 1975 World Cup Hockey Final (India Vs Pakistan) here

But Who remembers this day?

1975 World Cup Champion Indian Hockey Team with World Cup

1975 World Cup Champion Indian Hockey Team with World Cup (Photo courtesy:

38 summers ago this day turned out to be a red-lettered day in the Indian sports. A team prepared under patronage of a State government – it was due to internal feud between two factions of Indian Hockey Federation, a familiar affair even nowadays – a low key team that lost to a Pan-American team in the pool shrugged off its lethargy in time and went on to win the World Cup, defeating two Asian giants, one in the semis others in the final. read more on

Sher-e-Punjab: The Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

In the summit clash of Bridgestone World Series Hockey between Sher-e-Punjab and Pune Strykers (who defeated Karnataka Lions (4-1) and Chandigarh Comets (4-4 (3-2 PS)) enroute to finals respectively), it was strykers who started nicely and took lead through Tyron Pereira in the 4th Minute of game. Tyron’s slap shot from the baseline just inside the D, went into net after taking deflection from Harpreet Singh, the Shers’ defender.

Individual Awards:
WSH Rockstar (Rs 1 crore): Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets).
WSH Indian Superstar (Rs 50 lakh): Roshan Minz (Pune Strykers).
WSH Golden Stick (Rs 25 lakh): Syed Imran Warsi (Chennai Cheetahs) & Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets) (19 goals apiece).
WSH Game Changer (Rs 25 lakh): Shakeel Abbasi (Delhi Wizards).
WSH Rookie of the Year (Rs 10 lakh): Lalit Upadhyay (Bhopal Badshahs).
WSH Best Coach (Balkrishna Award): Rajinder Singh (Sher-e-Punjab).
Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

As usual, the Shers came out strongly as wounded Lions, as they not only denied room to Stykers’ strikers but also equalized within 2 minute in an indirect PC conversion, when Indian International VS Vinaya (who also plays in Spanish League) sent the ball into the nets. VS Vinaya, Mandeep Antil and Mathew Hotchkis did the hardwork in mid-field and set up many goal bound moves, but Gurpreet Guri (Stykers’ Goalie) stood tall in front of the nets, before Thakur sent the ball into the net after receiving a pass from Mathew Hotchkis just 2 minutes before Half Time.

Highlights of the Match Continue reading →