65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup: Results and Schedule

Obaidullah_Gold_Cup_LogoResults and schedule of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey tournament will be updated regularly on this page. Keep visiting 🙂
(PoM-> Player of the Match)

31st May, 2011 (Final):
IOC Vs BPCL : 3-2 … IOC are the champions of 65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup 2011,
PoM: Deepak Thakur (IOC)
3rd Position: Air India Vs ONGC: 4-3, Air India finished at 3rd Position, PoM: Vikram Pillay (Air India)

30th May, 2011 (Semifinals):
Match 17 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Air India : 0-6, PoM: , Scorers: Ramandeep Singh (2), Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1) and Prabhjot Singh (1)
Match 18 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs ONGC : 2-1, PoM: Aamir Khan (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Jarnail Singh (1), Aamir Khan (1) and ONGC: Diwakar Ram (1)

Semi-finalist teams are:
Air India, ONGC, IOC and BPCL

29th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 15 at 6:45 PM: IOC Vs Indian Railway : 4-1, PoM: Khothajeet Singh (IOC), Scorers: IOC: Deepak Thakur (2), VR Raghunath (1), Roshan Minz (1) and Indian Railways: Vivek Singh (1)
Match 16 at 8:30 PM: BPCL Vs Namdhari XI : 3-1, PoM: Sher Singh (BPCL), Scorers: BPCL: Gurpreet Singh (1), Amar Aiyamma (1), Sher Singh (1) and Namdhari XI: Gurpreet Singh (1)

28th May, 2011 (Quarterfinals):
Match 13 at 6:45 PM: Air India Vs MP Academy : 8-0, PoM: Shivendra Singh (Air India), Scorers: Shivendra Singh (4), Sameer Dad (1), Prabodh Tirkey (1), Joga Singh (1) and Birendra Lakra (1)
Match 14 at 8:30 PM: ONGC Vs PNB : 4-1, PoM: Vivek Gupta (ONGC), Scorers: ONGC: Akashdeep (2), Vikash Topo (1), Vivek Gupta (1) and PNB: Yudhveer (1)

Quarter-finalist teams are:
Air India, PNB, Namdhari XI, IOC, ONGC, MP Academy, BPCL and Indian Railways Continue reading →

65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup: Prize Money Increased, Inaugurated with Laser Show

65th Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup, the prestigious domestic hockey tournament of India, was inaugurated by Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan by offering prayer to Hockey.  He also announced that the prize money for the winners has been increased to more than double from Rs 5 lakh to Rs 11 lakh. Similarly, the prize money increased to 5.5 lakh from 3 lakh and 2.75 lakh from 2 lakh for runners up and third positioned team respectively. Ministers Tukajirao Pawar,Babulal Gour, Umashankar Gupta, Mayor Krishna Gour, Hockey India President Mariama Koshi, the MP of Gwalior Yashodra Raje Scindia, MLA Vishwas Sarang, Dhruvnarayan Singh, Sanjay Chaudhary and MP State Hockey Academy Chief Coach Ashok Kumar were also present there at inauguration, which showcased the history of hockey nursery Bhopal through an amazing laser show.


Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup (source: www.obaidullahkhangoldcup.in)

The first match of the tournament was played between Namdhari XI and Sapura Club (Malaysia) and ended in a goalless draw. None of the team could not score from numerous chances. Gurmail Singh of Namdhari was adjudged player of the match.

Today’s schedule:
PNB Vs SAI @5:00PM
BPCL Vs Railways @6:45PM
MP Academy Vs ONGC @8:00PM

65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament

The 65th All-India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament will be held in bhopal from May 23-31, 2011. A total of 12 teams, including Sapura Club, Malaysia and Bangladesh XI, would take part in the tournament. The teams are divided in four pools, which are as following:
obaidullah khanPool A: Air India, Sports Authority of India (SAI) and Punjab National Bank (PNB),
Pool B: Sapura Club (Malaysia), Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) and Namdhari Club,
Pool C: Bangladesh XI, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) and Madhya Pradesh State Hockey Academy,
Pool D: Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Indian Railways and Punjab Police. Continue reading →

Air India wins Ozonegroup Super Division Hockey League

Air India flies high on their return to Ozonegroup State Super Division hockey league, emerging champions with a 2-1 victory over Army Red in last match of the league.

Air India

Air India the winners of Ozonegroup Super Division Hockey League

In their last league encounter in the 11-team event, star studded team, which coached bye Gavin Ferreira secured their ninth win to tally 27 points and sneaked past second-placed BPCL (the only unbeaten side in the league this season) who logged 26 points from 8 wins and 2 draws.  Third placed IOCL lost a match to champions Air India and drew 1 is series to tally 25 points. Army Red could manage 4th place. Air India got Rs 2 lakh for their effort, BPCL Rs 1.5 lakh, IOCL Rs 1 lakh and Army Red Rs 0.5 lakh. Continue reading →