Air India in final of Bangalore Cup as IOCL beat Army XI

BANGALORE, October 16: Indian Oil Corporation Ltd edged out Army XI 2-1 in the concluding league match of 1st Bangalore Cup 2014 All-India hockey tournament, here on Thursday to record their fourth consecutive win and making way for Air India into the finals.

Jaswinder Singh (Indian Oil Corporation Limited) Indian Hockey Player

Jaswinder Singh scored the opening goal for IOCL

Going into the match, Army XI, with four points in the kitty, needed to win to join league toppers IOCL in the title round. Thus, Army XI’s defeat saw Air India, with six points, scramble into the final that will be played on Friday at 6 pm.

With this win IOCL topped the league table with 12 points, Air India finished second with six, followed by Bharath Petroleum (4), Army XI (4) and Karnataka XI (3).

IOCL, their India stars who are currently attending a National camp, scored twice in the first half as Jaswinder Singh found the net after accepting a return pass from Deepak Thakur, and then Thimmanna helped home Gagandeep Singh’s goal-bound ball. Continue reading →

Haryana and MPHA set up Women’s Final in Bangalore Cup 2014

BANGALORE, October 15: Haryana and Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy (MPHA) qualified for the women’s final with wins against Western Railway and Karnataka XI, respectively, in the first Bangalore Cup All-India hockey tournament. While in men’s competition Army XI will face IOCL tomorrow for a win to set-up final against IOCL, else Air India will face IOCL on Friday for the title.

Monika Dahiya (Indian Women Hockey Player)

Monika Dahiya scored opening goal for Haryana against Western Railway in Bangalore Cup 2014

Haryana eased past Western Railway 3-1 to record their fourth win in the six-team competition while MP Academy had to work hard for their 2-0 victory over Karnataka XI to take their tally to 10 points. Haryana and MPHA will play on Thursday to decide the top two positions in the league.

In the men’s competition, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd defeated Karnataka XI 5-1, a result that left Air India second with six points behind leaders Indian Oil (9) with Army XI (4) third. Continue reading →

IOCL beat BPCL to reach the Final of Bangalore Cup 2014

BANGALORE, October 14: Indian Oil Corporation Ltd (IOCL) defeated Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd (BPCL) 5-2 to record their third win and reached the final of inaugural Bangalore Cup 2014 All-India hockey tournament.

Gurjinder Singh (Indian Oil Corporation Limited)

Gurjinder Singh scorred 2 goals for  Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL)

For IOCL who led 3-1 at the break, Gurjinder Singh converted two penalty corners on either side of a Deepak Thakur goal and Prabhjot Singh struck twice late in the game while BPCL’s reply came from penalty corners through Gurpreet Singh, who later failed with a penalty stroke, and Tushar Khandekar.

The victory took IOCL’s tally to nine points in the five-team men’s competition while BPCL have lost two of their three matches and drawn the other. Continue reading →

Riding on Chandan’s Hat-Trick Army XI beat Air India 5-3 in Bangalore Cup 2014

BANGALORE, October 13: A brilliant hat-trick by Chandan Aind helped Army XI overcome Air India 5-3 to keep the fight for a final berth open in the men’s section of the inaugural Bengaluru Cup All-India hockey tournament, while Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy defeated Tamil Nadu 9-0 in women’s competition.

Army XI celebrating a goal during Bangalore Cup 2014

Army XI celebrating a goal during Bangalore Cup 2014

Indian Oil Corporation Ltd remain unbeaten at the top of the table with six points from two matches in the men’s section, Army XI have four points from three matches and remain in the running for a berth in the final while Air India have three from three outings.

Army XI surprised the Air India by striking a field goal in the very fourth minute through Arun Kumar, but after a fair share of exchanges, Samir Dad restored parity in the 28th minute as the teams went into the break on equal terms. Continue reading →

IOCL and Haryana continue their winning streak at Bangalore Cup

BANGALORE, October 12: Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) notched up their second straight win beating home team Karnataka XI 6-2 in men’s section, while Haryana defeated the hosts 4-2 in women’s competition of the 1st Bengaluru Cup All-India invitational hockey tournament at the city’s only hockey stadium.

Haryana girls celebrating one of their goals against hosts Karnataka during Bangalore Cup 2014

Haryana girls celebrating one of their goals against hosts Karnataka during Bangalore Cup 2014

With two wins from two matches each, IOCL and Haryana lead the table with six points.

Meanwhile, Army XI came back from a two-goal deficit after opening 3 minutes and threatened to steal full points, but had to settle for a 3-3 draw with Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited. Army XI muffed three short corners in the last five minutes.

BPCL, thus picked up their first point in two outings as did Army XI in the five-team men’s competition. Continue reading →

Hat-trick by Shivendra as Air India register a win on 2nd day of Bangalore

BANGALORE, October 11:  A hat-trick by Indian star forward Shivendra Singh lifted Air India as they came back twice from behind to win against Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited 4-2 for their first win in 1st Bengaluru Cup All-India invitational hockey tournament.

Shivendra Singh (Air India Hockey)

Shivendra Singh scored a hat-trick in Air India’s 4-2 victory against BPCL

BPCL, playing their first match, forged into the lead in the eighth minute when Amir Khan tapped in from the goalmouth after Asian Games gold medalist SV Sunil did the spadework. Sunil cut into the circle from the left flank and dribbled down the goal-line towards the left post and sent a short pass to Amir Khan who made no mistake.

Air India drew parity in the 24th minute with a stinging shot from Shivendra Singh from an acute angle. BPCL took the lead once again seven minutes into the second session when defender William Xalxo sounded the boards following their third penalty corner. Continue reading →