Punjab Defend Their Junior National Hockey Champions Title

13 June 2013: Defending Champions Punjab defeated Odisha 2-1 to defend their Junior National Hockey Champions title, while Madhya Pradesh finished 3rd by defeating Maharashtra in the 3rd Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2013 which concluded today at Motil Lal Nehru Sports Complex, Rai in Sonepat (Haryana).

The Fans of HockeyPunjab scored their opening goal through their skipper Gaganpreet Singh who converted the penalty corner in the 10th minute while Odisha leveled the score in the 24th minute with the field goal scored by Joseph Toppo.

In the second half, both the teams fought hard but finally Punjab’s Skipper Gaganpreet Singh managed to convert a penalty stroke in the 63rd minute to win the final which was graced by the Chief Minister of Haryana Bhupinder Singh Hooda as chief guest. Continue reading →