Birendra (Men) and Vandana (Women): Players of year in 1st Hockey India Annual Awards

  • Sardar Balbir Singh bestowed with ‘Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award’
  • Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year: Birendra Lakra (Men) and Vandana Kataria (Women)
  • Awards worth over Rs. 2.80cr conferred to players for their outstanding performance
  • Watch full video of the Hockey India Annual Awards 2014 here
Hockey India Annual Awards: (Standing: LtoR) P R Sreejesh, Harendra Singh, Balbir Singh Sr, K Arumugam (One Thousand Hockey Legs), Sophie, Vandana Katariya, Deepika Thakur, Narinder Batra, (Sitting): Akashdeep Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Manpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Namita Toppo

Hockey India Annual Awards: (Standing: LtoR) P R Sreejesh, Harendra Singh, Balbir Singh Sr, K Arumugam (One Thousand Hockey Legs), Sophie, Vandana Katariya, Deepika Thakur, Narinder Batra, (Sitting): Akashdeep Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Manpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Namita Toppo

A landmark occasion was witnessed, as Hockey India today conferred the first ever Annual Awards to recognise the dedication and hard work of hockey players, coaches and administrators on the field to build the sport on the national and international arena. Awards of over Rs. 2.80 Crore were presented in a glittering ceremony at New Delhi. The Chief Guest for the occasion was the Hon’ble Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, Sarbananda Sonowal. Continue reading →

Detail of Hockey India Annual Awards: First Ever Award Ceremony

  • The awardee for the ‘Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award’ award Sardar Balbir Singh received Rs.30,00,000/-

Video of Hockey India Annual Awards Function is here

List of Awards for the ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’ –

Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award Rs.30,00,000/-: Sardar Balbir Singh Sr
Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Men) Rs.25,00,000/-: Birendra Lakra
Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Women) Rs.25,00,000/-: Vandana Kataria
Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21) Rs.10,00,000/-: Harmanpreet Singh
Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21) Rs.10,00,000/-: Namita Toppo
Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: PR Sreejesh
Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Deepika
Ajit Pal Singh Award Midfielder of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Manpreet Singh
Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Akashdeep Singh
Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution (for coaches and support staff) Rs.5,00,000/-: Harendra Singh
Hockey India President Award for Outstanding Achievement Rs.5,00,000/-: K Arumugam for One Thousand Hockey Legs

New Delhi, 16 March 2015: ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’ an initiative by Hockey India will take place on 28th March 2015 at Hotel The Lalit, New Delhi and will mark the kick-start of the first ever annual awards for the sport. The annual awards initiated by Hockey India is an effort towards recognizing the hard work put in by the hockey players, coaches, support staff and administrators on the field both nationally as well as internationally. Continue reading →

Akashdeep to lead India in Junior Asia Cup Hockey

Forward Akashdeep Singh is named captain for the 18-member Indian hockey squad to play in 7th Junior Asia Cup at Malacca, Malaysia from May 3-13. Apart from India and hosts Malaysia, Bangladesh, China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are other participating team.

Gurjinder Singh

Gurjinder Singh in WSH

India are the defending champions, and have won the last two editions at Karachi (2004) and Chennai (2008). Though this tournament will be the qualifier for the Junior World cup to be held in 2013, India is automatically qualified for Junior World Cup 2013 as hosts. Hockey India (HI) selectors BP Govinda, Syed Ali and Balbir Singh, alongwith government observer Harbinder Singh conducted the selection trials at SAI (South) Centre, Bangalore, on April 6-7.

Will India miss the services of players like Gurjinder Singh (Bridgestone WSH Rockstar and Golden Stick-19 Goals in WSH), Devindar Walmiki (Life of Mumbai Marines’s mid-field, 4 Goals), Ramandeep Singh (4 Goals in WSH for Chandigarh Comets), etc. whose performances in recently concluded World Series Hockey can not be ignored? Most importantly, Gurjinder Singh and Devindar Walmiki were declared the Captain and Vice-Captain of the team for Sultan Johor Cup 2011 (i.e. junior team of India’s last international outing, Nov 2011), later Devindar went on leading the team in Malaysia as Gurjinder had to miss the tournament due to ankle injury.

Coach Baljit Singh is confident of doing well in Malacca, told us, “Since we are already qualified for Junior World Cup 2013 as hosts, we will go all out for both defending title (Jr Asia Cup) and building up the team for the World Cup.”

The Coach of Jr India team also said, “Going for the title (Asia Cup) is the best way to prepare the team for World Cup, but automatic qualification will provide us with some cushion to try out few things in Malaysia to build up the team for upcoming Junior World Cup.”

The squad:
Goalkeepers: Sushant Tirkey, Keshav Dutt

Continue reading →

WSH or HI, the Administrators, please help us in finding answers to these questions?

Hockey Indian General Secretary Narinder Batra said “If any player skips the national camp, we will be left with no option but to induct juniors for the Olympic qualifiers. It is for the players to make the choice, We cannot stop the players from playing wherever they want to. They all know that they would be playing in an event not sanctioned by the FIH and it is for them to decide what is in their best interests. It is not that we are announcing the dates of the national camp now, we had submitted our programme months in advance to the sports ministry for approval. The tentative date given for the camp to start was between December 11-15.”

“We know that the players will be at a loss if they do not play in the WSH. We are, in fact, in touch with some corporates to announce cash rewards for players of the team if it qualifies for the Olympics. That can happen only if they play and qualify for the London Olympics.” He added.

Something must read:
WSH: Nobbs need to tread a middle path –K. Arumugam


Baljit Singh, during a national camp in Banglore (2011)

Ok Batra ji, agreed that Hockey India are planning to give cash rewards for the players of the team if it qualifies for the Olympics, but what about this “That can happen only if they play and qualify for the London Olympics”. What happens should they not qualify for the Olympics? What then? Are they not entitled to anything? So basically its the story of hanging the carrot and making one jump and not the story of one where you build steps so you do not have to jump to get the carrot. The built up stairs make sure you get there. Continue reading →

Indian National Men’s Hockey Team Camp at SAI (South) Centre, Bangalore

Indian National Men’s Hockey Team is camping at SAI (South) Centre, Bangalore for the preparation of the upcoming important tournaments which includes FIH’s annual prestigious tournament (Champions Trophy 2011), to be held at Major Dhyan Chand National Hockey Stadium, Delhi and London 2012 Olympic Qualifiers to be played in February, 2012. India will also be playing inaugural edition of Asian Championship Trophy and will visit Australia for a 9-a-side tournament by Hockey Australia (International Super Series). Players are slowly getting into rhythm through the monitoring and light warm-up sessions with the coaches Mohd Riaz and BJ Cariappa, while the newly appointed Chief Coach, Michael Nobbs, is expected to join the camp soon. On the other hand, SAI officials have left no stone unturned to hand over best possible surface for the camp.


Beatiful astro turf surrounded by lush green trees, being cleaned for the national camp

Continue reading →