Sardar and Waseem Among Candidates for FIH’s Athletes’ Committee elections

• 21 candidates announced for FIH Athletes’ Committee
• All continents represented including FIH’s first ever female committee candidate from Iran – Sanaz Heidari
• Four of the eight seats to be elected will be voted for by athletes for first time ever

Indian skipper Sardar Singh in action against Bangladesh during Hockey World League 2 New Delhi

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is pleased to announce the names of six women and 15 men, who make up the candidate list for the inaugural FIH Athletes’ Committee elections, set to take place during this year’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup, 31 May to 15 June, in The Hague, Netherlands. Whilst the FIH Athletes’ Committee already exists, this will be the first time that four of the eight seats will be elected by athletes. Two women and two men will be elected during the Hockey World Cup, while the remaining four seats will be appointed by the FIH Executive Board in March 2015.

The four seats elected at the Hockey World Cup will be announced on the 12 June.

Female Candidates: Marsha COX, RSA; Rachel DAWSON, USA; Sanaz HEIDARI, IRI; Anne PANTER, ENG; Beth SMITH, NZL; Yimeng ZHANG, CHN

Male Candidates: Waseem AHMED, PAK; Paolo CANE, ITA; Liam de YOUNG, AUS; Niclas FRANZÉN, SWE; Santi FREIXA, ESP; Moritz FURSTE, GER; David HARTE, IRL; David KETTLE, WAL; Henri LHOMME, FRA; Jiwa MOHAN, MAS; Filip NEUSSER, CZE; Xavier RECKINGER, BEL; Scott SANDISON, CAN; Sardar SINGH, IND; Robert van der HORST, NED

Continue reading →