Hockey India send recommendations for Arjuna Awards, Sardar Singh for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Hockey India today recommended players for this year’s Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Award 2015. Sardar Singh has been recommended for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards. For the Arjuna Awards Hockey India has recommended Danish Mujtaba, Dharamvir Singh, VR Raghunath, P R Sreejesh, and SV Sunil while in the women category the recommendation has gone for Asunta Lakra, Deepika, Rani, Ritu Rani, Sushila Chanu and Vandana Katariya.

Sardar Singh in action against Australia in practice match before Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 in Bhubaneswar (India)

File Photo: Sardar Singh in action against Australia in practice match before Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 in Bhubaneswar (India)

Speaking on the recommendations, Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General, Hockey India said, “The players that we have recommended for the Awards have proved themselves on the field through their play and through their representation in the National Teams have made India proud. They have won India accolades on the International platform and I am confident that India will stand up and give them their due credit by bestowing them with the awards that they so rightly deserve. Being bestowed with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or an Arjuna Award is each players dream and they all work extremely hard for this national recognition.” Continue reading →

Sandeep Singh and Sardar Singh are Nominated for Khel Ratna 2013

Former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh and current captain Sardar Singh have been nominated for the most prestigious sports award in India i.e. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh is recommended by his state “Haryana” government while his state-mate Sardar Singh is nominated by Hockey India.

Sardar Singh Captain (Haryana) during Haryana Vs Puducherry on Day 3 of Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012

File Photo: Sardar Singh Captain (Photo by:

Hockey India has also recommended Selector and Olympian Syed Ali for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2013.

Danish Mujtaba (Captain of the Indian Men Hockey Team during the 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, Malaysia in March 2013), VR Raghunath (Current Vice-Captain of Indian Men Hockey Team), forward Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chetri (former Indian Captain) have been recommended for the Arjuna Award 2013 in the men’s category. Continue reading →

Good to be back in the Games Village after years: Ignace Tirkey

Ignace Tirkey is looking ahead for good games

Ignace Tirkey is looking ahead for good games

2010 Padmashree Awardee, Ignace Tirkey feels good to be back in the games village after 6 long years. Last time, he experienced the environment of the games village when he captained the Indian Men’s Hockey team in Melbourne for the Commonwealth Games 2006. He missed the 2010 Commonwealth and Asian Games due to injury. Sandeep Singh and Ignace Tirkey are the only two members of current squad who represented India at the Athens Olympics in 2004.

India’s most experienced Hockey Player at London Olympics, Ignace told, “Current team has a good team spirit and works as a unit. The team is encouraged to put up their best efforts in the Olympics.” For the former captain of India, who plays for Services/Army in domestic circuit, reaching the podium is the target at Riverbank Arena. Continue reading →