Sandeep in, Shiva and Arjun rested

The 22 member hockey squad was selected from the ongoing national camp at Balewadi Sports Complex, Pune. The team, to be led by forward Rajpal Singh, will play a series of three Tests against Belgium from July 5 to July 16 and after that, another three-match series against France. The team will wind up the tour with two Tests against the European champions Dutch on July 24 and 25.
“The squad will compete in the Four Nation Hamburg Masters Tournament in Germany against the Netherlands, Japan and the hosts from July 2-4 followed by a Test series in Belgium, France and Holland,” Hockey India said in a statement.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Sreejesh PR, Bharat Chetri.

Defenders: Sardar Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Rupinder Pal Singh, Sandeep Singh, Amit Prabhakar.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Ravi Pal, Prabodh Tirkey, Ajitesh Roy, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Vikas Pillay, Birendra Lakra Jr.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh (Captain), Tushar Khandker, Sarvanjit Singh, Mandip Antil, Mohd. Amir Khan, Hari Prasad, Dharamvir Singh.

Officials: Jose Brasa (Foreign Coach), Harendra Singh (National Coach), Clarence Lobo (Coach), Jugraj Singh (Coach), Pradip Dutta (Trainer), Lt. Col. BK Nayak (Doctor), Shrikant Iyengar (Physio), Ram Kishan Bansiwal (Masseur), Raj Kumar Kakati (Manager).

New Schedule of Canada-India Cup 2010 (women's)

As per the new schedule of Canada-India Cup 2010, the first two games previously scheduled on June 12th and 13th at the UBC have been cancelled. The games in surrey will be played as per earlier schedule. Then, fourth game will be played at University of British Columbia, Wright Field on Sunday, June 20th at 4:00pm. Thus the series is reduced to four games from five games as it was planned earlier.

Match Schedule of four match series (June 15-20, 2010)

Date Time Location
June 15, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 17, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 19, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 20, 2010 4:00 pm Vancouver UBC – Wright Field

Hockey Schedule at Delhi Commonwealth Games 2010

Note: Please check the official website of CWG for latest schedule or click here.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) have released the hockey schedule for the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games. The competition will kick-start with four women’s matches on 4 October.

The 11-day hockey tournament will be played on two pitches of the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi which was the venue for Hero Honda FIH World Cup in March 2010. A total of 10 men’s and 10 women’s teams will compete in the tournament.
The teams are allocated across two pools.
Pool A: Australia, Pakistan, India, Malaysia, Scotland.
Pool B: England, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago.
Pool A: Australia, South Africa, India, Scotland, Trinidad & Tobago.
Pool B: England, New Zealand, Canada, Malaysia, Wales. Continue reading →

Women’s World Cup 2010 Schedule

A tough task is waiting for the Indian women in 2010 Hockey World Cup in Argentina. Indian have been clubbed with current world champions Netherlands, Germany, Australia, Japan and New Zealand in Pool A. Indian eves qualified for the world cup by reaching the finals of the 2009 Asia Cup.
The world cup will be held from August 29 to September 11 and will witness Asian rivalry between China and Korea in the opening match.
The top two teams of each pool will proceed to the semifinals, which are scheduled on September 9. The final will be played on September 11.
Schedule: (according to local time of Rosario i.e. -3:00 GMT)
August 29: Pool B Continue reading →

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Schedule and Live Commentary

2010 edition of annual hockey tournament Sultan Azlan Shah Cup has started from 6th May at IPOH, Malaysia. First edition of the tournament was played in 1983 and it was a biennial contest. It has become an annual event after 1998.

You can catch live commentary at at following link:

On Twitter: more details see the official website of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at

2010 Azlan Shah Cup Schedule
Thursday, May 6
1605 – South Korea v Egypt
1805 – China v India
2005 – Pakistan v Malaysia
Friday, May 7
1605 – Australia v Egypt
1805 – Pakistan v India
2005 – South Korea v Malaysia
Saturday, May 8 – Rest Day
Sunday, May 9
1605 – South Korea v India
1805 – Pakistan v China
2005 – Australia v Malaysia
Monday, May 10
1605 – South Korea v China
1805 – Australia v India
2005 – Malaysia v Egypt
Tuesday, May 11 – Rest Day
Wednesday, May 12
1605 – Australia v Pakistan
1805 – China v Egypt
2005 – India v Malaysia
Thursday, May 13
1605 – Pakistan v Egypt
1805 – Australia v South Korea
2005 – China v Malaysia
Friday, May 14 – Rest Day
Saturday, May 15
1605 – Australia v China
1805 – South Korea v Pakistan
2005 – India v Egypt
Sunday, May 16
1605 – 5/6th Placing
1805 – 3/4th Placing
2035 – Final