Hawke’s Bay Cup: India hold Australia for draw, Face hosts New Zealand in QFs

Australia and India had plenty to play for in the final pool match of the Hawke’s Bay Cup Women’s Hockey tournament in Hastings, but after 60 minutes of intense action it was Australia that came away the more disappointed team after the match ended in a scoreless draw.

The first half was evenly fought with both teams having sustained periods on attack. The best chance for India came in the second quarter when they were awarded a penalty stroke but couldn’t convert it into a goal.

The second half belonged to Australia but try as they might they were unable to break the sound defence of India. The final 7 minutes of the match saw play sweep from end to end but both teams remained scoreless at the final hooter.

That completes pool play in the Hawke’s Bay Cup tournament. Quarterfinals will be played on Thursday (NZ time), semifinals on Saturday and the finals on Sunday.

The Results Final Day of Pool Stage :
Japan 1 (Mie Nakashima 56) defeated by  Argentina 2 ( Carla Rebecchi 34, Florencia Habif 43)
China 2 (Xiaoxu Xu 20, Meiyu Liang 59) beat  USA 1 (Katie O’Donnell 27)
New Zealand 2 (Olivia Merry 17, Gemma Flynn 49 ) beat Korea 1 (Eunbi Cheon 55)
Australia 0 draw with India 0

The quarterfinal lineup (Full Schedule, Results and Points Table and Live Stream Here):
QF 1 China vs Japan 1.30pm
QF 2 Argentina vs Australia 3.45pm
QF 3 New Zealand vs India 6pm
QF 4 USA vs Korea 8.15pm Continue reading →

Hawke’s Bay Cup: USA beat India 4-2, Hockeyroos held for yet another draw

After giving a tough fight, Indian women’s hockey team went down to USA by 2-4 in the second match at the Hawke’s Bay Cup being played at Hastings Sports Park, New Zealand today. While Australia were held yet another draw in the tournament in Pool A. New Zealand and Korea won their respective matches in Pool B.

Today’s results:

Match 5:  USA 4 (Jill Witmer 19, Kathleen Sharkey 42,43 Julia Reinprecht 47) beat  India 2 (Anuradha Thokchom 6,44)

Match 6: Australia 2 (Madonna Blyth 4, Jodie Kenny 30) draw  China 2 (Yang Peng,26, Xiayun Xi 35 )

Match 7: Korea 2 (Jongeun Kim 33 & 59) beat  Japan 1 (Shihori Oikawa 3)

Match 8:  New Zealand Black Sticks 3 (Kirsten Pearce 14, Anita Punt 23, Olivia Merry 30) beat  Argentina 2 (Augustina Habif 7, Delfina Merino 38)

Recording of Day 2 Matches at Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey)

Continue reading →

Women’s Hockey Hawke’s Bay Cup: China beat India 2-1 in Opener

On the opening day of The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey), the Hosts Black Sticks came from 0-2 down to draw 2-2 against Japan, while India were defeated by China (2-1) in the tournament opener. USA held Australia for 1-1 draw as Argentina beat Korea by 2-0.

RESULTS of The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey) Day 1:
Game four: Black Sticks vs Japan: 2-2 Draw
Japanese goal scorers: Shihori Oikawa, Hazuki Nagai
New Zealand goal scorers: Rachel McCann, Pippa Hayward

Game three: Argentina vs Korea: 2-0 (Argentina win)
Argentina goal scorer: Martina Cavallero x2

Game two: Australia vs USA: 1-1 Draw
USA goal scorer: Melissa Gonzalez
Australian goal scorer: Emily Smith

Game one: India vs China: 2-1 (China win)
India goal scorers: Anuradha Thockchom
China goal scorers: Mengu Wang, Qian Yu

Continue reading →

The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey): Schedule, Live Stream and Results

The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey)

The Hawke's Bay Cup (Women's Hockey) Logo11-19th April 2015
Hastings Sports Park, Napier (New Zealand)

Participating teams:
Pool A: Australia, China, India, USA
Pool B: Argentina, Japan, Korea, New Zealand

Live Stream of The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey) Here:

Detailed Schedule and Results of The Hawke’s Bay Cup (Women’s Hockey) here: Continue reading →

Detail of Hockey India Annual Awards: First Ever Award Ceremony

  • The awardee for the ‘Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award’ award Sardar Balbir Singh received Rs.30,00,000/-

Video of Hockey India Annual Awards Function is here

List of Awards for the ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’ –

Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award Rs.30,00,000/-: Sardar Balbir Singh Sr
Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Men) Rs.25,00,000/-: Birendra Lakra
Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Women) Rs.25,00,000/-: Vandana Kataria
Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21) Rs.10,00,000/-: Harmanpreet Singh
Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21) Rs.10,00,000/-: Namita Toppo
Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: PR Sreejesh
Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Deepika
Ajit Pal Singh Award Midfielder of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Manpreet Singh
Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year Rs.5,00,000/-: Akashdeep Singh
Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution (for coaches and support staff) Rs.5,00,000/-: Harendra Singh
Hockey India President Award for Outstanding Achievement Rs.5,00,000/-: K Arumugam for One Thousand Hockey Legs

New Delhi, 16 March 2015: ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’ an initiative by Hockey India will take place on 28th March 2015 at Hotel The Lalit, New Delhi and will mark the kick-start of the first ever annual awards for the sport. The annual awards initiated by Hockey India is an effort towards recognizing the hard work put in by the hockey players, coaches, support staff and administrators on the field both nationally as well as internationally. Continue reading →

India beat World Champions Australia to win series by 3-1: Report and Replay of 4th Match

The Asian Games Champions India defeated the hosts and World Champions Australia 3-1 in the fourth and last match of the series being played at the Perth Hockey Stadium, and won the series 3-1. The series victory over mighty Kookaburras will be big boost in Indian team’s confidence before next month’s Champions Trophy at Bhubaneswar (6-14 December, 2014).

Replay of 4th test match between Australia and India is here:

Captain Sardar Singh during the forth match between the Kookaburras v India men's International Hockey. Perth Hockey Stadium, Australia, (Credits: treebyimages)

India Captain Sardar Singh reached 200 caps milestone in 4th Kookaburras v India Hockey Test Match at Perth Hockey Stadium, Australia, (Credits: treebyimages)

Upbeat on the last two triumphs (2-1 in 2nd match and 1-0 in 3rd match) against Australia, India opened the first half of the game with all strength and dynamism as a result of which the initial goal of the match came in as early as in the 13th minute into the game from the stick of Akashdeep Singh of India, who scored off a penalty corner in goal mouth melee. This gave India a lead of 1-0 and an upper hand in the game. Later on, a couple of penalty corners were awarded to both the teams in the second quarter but none succeeded in materializing the opportunity. When the whistles blew for half-time, the scoreboard displayed a score of 1-0, indicating a trail for the hosts. Continue reading →