Abbott will Miss Olympics due to Injury, Russell Ford will Join in

The Australian men’s hockey team announced today that star striker Des Abbott has been replaced in the Kookaburras Olympic team due to a knee injury that has failed to improve since selection.

Abbott will be replaced in the team by Victorian striker Russell Ford, who was informed yesterday of the coaching team’s decision.

Ric Charlesworth said today it was the hardest decision he has ever had to make during his distinguished coaching career.

“Des is a walk up start, if his game is uncompromised, he is one of the world’s most brilliant players but the progressive knee injury has interfered in his game,” he said. Continue reading →

Team GB Men’s Hockey Squad Selected for London 2012 Olympics

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has announced today the 16 players who will represent Team GB in men’s hockey at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The men’s hockey squad has risen consistently up the world rankings since the Olympic Games were awarded to London back in 2005.  At the time, they were ranked 11th in the world. Since then the players have demonstrated huge progress to reach their current world ranking of fourth.

At the last Olympics in Beijing Team GB narrowly missed out on a place in the semi finals and finished the tournament in fifth position. At London 2012 they will have their sights firmly fixed on reaching the medal matches at the Riverbank Arena in the Olympic Park.

The selected athletes are: name (age; hometown; current club):
Nicholas Catlin (23; Marlow, Bucks; Reading)
Jonathan Clarke (31; Southend-on-Sea, Essex; Reading)
Matthew Daly (28; Surbiton, Greater London; Surbiton)
James Fair (31; Chester, Cheshire; Cannock)
Daniel Fox (29; Godalming, Surrey; Hampstead & Westminster)
Ben Hawes (31; Lewes, East Sussex; Wimbledon)
Ashley Jackson (24; Tunbridge Wells, Kent; East Grinstead)
Glenn Kirkham (29; Chelmsford; East Grinstead)
Iain Lewers (28; Belfast, Northern Ireland; East Grinstead)
Iain Mackay (27; Braintree, Essex; Reading)
Harry Martin (19; Ipswich, Suffolk; Old Loughtonians)
Barry Middleton (28; Doncaster, South Yorkshire; East Grinstead)
Robert Moore (31; Winchester, Hampshire; Surbiton)
Richard Smith (24; Portsmouth, Hampshire; Loughborough Students)
James Tindall (29; Virginia Water, Surrey; Surbiton)
Alastair Wilson (28; Sheffield, South Yorkshire; Beeston) Continue reading →

Kookaburras Games Appeal Successful

Hockey Australia has received a positive response to the appeal against the Olympic Games fixture that would have seen the Australian men’s hockey team face three 5am starts.

The Federation of International Hockey has confirmed it has re-scheduled Australia v Pakistan on August 7 from 8.30am to 10.45am, switching the Korea v Netherlands match to the earlier start.

Kookaburras Coach Ric Charlesworth had protested when the draw was released a month ago, believing it would have unfairly disadvantaged the world number one team. Continue reading →

Hockeyroos Olympic Team Announced

Regarded as one of the nation’s greatest sporting teams of all time, the Australian women’s outfit welcomed the new breed of Hockeyroos to the biggest stage in world sport today.

Seven players have Olympic Games experience, Captain Madonna Blyth, Casey Eastham, Teneal Attard, Toni Cronk, Kobie McGurk, Hope Munro and Megan Rivers, while the rest are set to make their Games debut.

Hockeyroos coach Adam Commens said selection had been difficult but in the end he was pleased with the final 16 that made the cut.

“We believe in this group, but we know the next six weeks are so important to our Olympic campaign,” Commens said.

“We have identified the areas we need to dramatically improve on if we are to challenge for a medal at the Games.” Continue reading →

Kookaburras Olympic Team Announced

After years of preparation and countless hours of training, 16 players have been selected to represent the Australian men’s hockey team at the Olympics.

Six experienced athletes will travel to London for the Games with ten players who will make their Olympic debut and realise a life-long dream.

Kookaburras Olympic TeamThe Kookaburras took home bronze from Beijing four years ago but for the world number one team, it’s gold they want in London.

Head Coach Ric Charlesworth said while the past week had been stressful for selectors, his thoughts were with the exceptionally talented players that had missed out. Continue reading →

Bodimeade names U.S. Olympic Women’s Field Hockey Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Today Lee Bodimeade, head coach of the U.S. Women’s Field Hockey Team, announced the 16-player roster for the 2012 Olympic Games. Seven players make a return to the Olympic Games, including U.S. captain Lauren Crandall (Doylestown, Pa). The U.S. will look to record their first Olympic medal since 1984, after finishing a disappointing eighth at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China. 

USA Field Hockey Logo“One of the things that we have been able to achieve since Beijing is increasing the depth and ability of the entire squad,” said Bodimeade. “To go from 25 athletes down to 16 was an extremely difficult task and one that had some really tough decisions that needed to be made. We had 16 rookies at the Olympics in 2008 and now to have seven athletes with that experience on the Olympic Team puts us in a much better position heading to London.”  Continue reading →