Indian Senior Women Hockey Team for 3rd Asian Champions Trophy

New Delhi, 25 October 2013: Today, Indian Senior Women Hockey Team was announced for the 3rd Asian Champions Trophy 2013.

Indian Women's Hockey Team in training session at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium before Hockey World League Round 2 New Delhi

The 18 member squad will be captained by midfielder Ritu Rani while midfielder Chanchan Devi will be her deputy for the tournament to be played from 2-9 November 2013 at the Green Stadium in Kakamigahara, Japan.

Apart from India and hosts Japan, China and Malaysia are other teams in the women’s tournament, while this year’s men’s tournament will see the Defending Champions Pakistan, 2011 Champions India, Malaysia, China, Oman and hosts Japan taking on each for the top honors. Continue reading →

3rd Asian Champions Trophy 2013 (Men & Women): Schedule and Results

3rd Asian Champions Trophy 2013 (Men & Women)

Asian Hockey Federation Logo2nd -10th November 2013
at Green Stadium, Kakamigahara, Japan

Participating teams:
Men (Final Standings): 1. Pakistan, 2. Japan, 3. Malaysia, 4. China, 5. India, 6. Oman
Women (Final Standings): 1. Japan, 2. India, 3. Malaysia and 4. China.

Detailed Schedule of 3rd Men’s and Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2013: Continue reading →

Its India vs Pakistan in Summit Clash of Asian Champions Trophy, Doha 2012

The final of day league stage of 2nd Asian Champions Trophy 2012 at Doha turned out to be exciting one as results of all three matches were important in deciding the 2nd finalists after India had already qualified for it.

Shakeel Abbasi

File Photo: Shakeel Abbasi (Photo by: Deepthi Indukuri)

In the first match China defeated Oman (6-1) to register their 3rd victory in the tournament to take themselves on 2nd place in points temporarily. Then Pakistan defeated (5-2) Japan after seesawing first half which ended up on equal terms (2-2) and climbed to second place in the table.

Pakistan had taken early lead through Muhammad Waqas in 1st min and Japan replied with two penalty corner goals in 8th and 23rd minute through Heita Yoshihara and Toshiro Tachibana respectively to bring out smiles on the faces of Malaysian fans. But evergreen Shakeel Abbasi scored equalizer for the green shirts a minute before the half time hooter. Continue reading →

It could be India vs Pakistan or Malaysia or China in Final of 2nd Asian Champions Trophy Doha 2012

With four consecutive wins from as many matches, defending champions India have confirmed their place in the final of 2nd Asian Champions Trophy, Doha. The other finalist will be known only after completion of final league match of the tournament being played at Al Rayyan Hockey Stadium, Doha, Qatar.

Doha Asian Champions Trophy 2012 LogoIn their fourth match India beat (2-1) world number 5 side Pakistan to book a place in final, while China stunned Malaysia (4-2) to not only deny Malaysia 2nd place in points table but also kept themselves in competition.

China stand a mathematical chance to make it to the final against India to be played on 27th December, which is possible if 16th ranked Japan beat Asian Champions Trophy 2011 runners up and 2012 FIH Champions Trophy Bronze Medalists Pakistan or hold them for draw, also India win or draw against Malaysia in last league match of tournament after China record a victory over Oman in the first match on 26th December. Continue reading →

Big Hockey Day at Doha as Pakistan Face Defending Champions India in 2nd Asian Champions Trophy

World number 13 side, Malaysia held the favorites Pakistan for a 3-3 draw to keep their chances alive for a place in final of Asian Champions Trophy 2012, being played at Doha (Qatar).

Doha Asian Champions Trophy 2012 LogoIn the meanwhile, India has reached the top of the table, with 3 wins from as many outings including big win (11-0) against lowest ranked team in the competition, Oman (Current FIH Ranking 36), 3-1 and 4-0 wins against Japan and China respectively. Continue reading →

India beat Oman 11-0 at 2nd Asian Champions Trophy Doha

New Delhi, 23 December 2012: India registered their third consecutive win in the 2nd Asian Champions Trophy being played at Doha, Qatar. India defeated Oman 11-0 in their third match of the tournament on Sunday.

SV Sunil

SV Sunil Scored a brace for India

India scored through SV Sunil (3rd and 44th minute), Dharamvir Singh (8th minute and 56th minute), VR Raghunath (30th and 38th minute Penalty Corner), Rupinder Pal Singh (33rd and 43rd minute Penalty Corner), Akashdeep Singh (53rd minute Penalty Corner), Harbir Singh (65th minute Penalty Corner) and Danish Mujtaba (67th minute). Continue reading →