Black Sticks Women’s Squad Named for Hockey World League Round 3 in Rotterdam

A strong combination of youth and experience will feature for the Black Sticks Women at FIH World League Round 3 at Rotterdam in June.

Black Sticks LogoHead coach Mark Hager today named 18 players for the competition in Rotterdam, Netherlands which acts as a virtual semi-final scenario for the World League.

World League Round 3 is split into two eight-team competitions with one in Rotterdam and the other to be played in London. Continue reading →

Last Chance to Impress for Junior World Cup Hopefulls for Black Sticks, Annual U21 Tournament Starts on 5th May

New Zealand’s top young talent will come together for the annual U21 Tournament in Whangarei next week with the upcoming Junior World Cup foremost in their minds.

Black Sticks LogoThe action gets underway this Sunday and runs throughout the week, culminating in finals day on Saturday 11th May.

On the Women’s side of the draw, one of the teams to watch will be Canterbury which features no less than four Black Sticks squad members – Cassandra Reid, Jenny Storey, Olivia Merry and Sian Fremaux. Continue reading →

Sandeep Singh and Sardar Singh are Nominated for Khel Ratna 2013

Former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh and current captain Sardar Singh have been nominated for the most prestigious sports award in India i.e. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh is recommended by his state “Haryana” government while his state-mate Sardar Singh is nominated by Hockey India.

Sardar Singh Captain (Haryana) during Haryana Vs Puducherry on Day 3 of Hockey India Senior National Championship 2012

File Photo: Sardar Singh Captain (Photo by:

Hockey India has also recommended Selector and Olympian Syed Ali for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2013.

Danish Mujtaba (Captain of the Indian Men Hockey Team during the 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, Malaysia in March 2013), VR Raghunath (Current Vice-Captain of Indian Men Hockey Team), forward Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chetri (former Indian Captain) have been recommended for the Arjuna Award 2013 in the men’s category. Continue reading →

Sharland and Wilson named best Black Sticks Hockey Players

27th April, 2013: Co-captain Kayla Sharland and striker Nick Wilson have taken out the top honours at the Hockey New Zealand Annual Awards Dinner held in Auckland tonight.

Michaela Curtis (right) congratulates Kayla Sharland after scoring at the Gallagher Hockey Centre in Hamilton tonight against USA (Photo Credit:

File Photo: Kayla Sharland being congratulated for a goal by Michaela Curtis (Photo Credit:

Both were presented with the 2012 Player of the Year Award and acknowledged for their consistently exceptional performance throughout the year, especially during the London Olympics.

The Under-21 Player of the Year was handed to Dunedin drag flicker Kane Russell while hard working defender Sam Charlton collected the women’s equivalent.

A plumbing apprentice, Russell has worked his way into the Black Sticks over the last two years and is now regularly outclassing the opposition with his trademark drag flick. Continue reading →

Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final Rotterdam (Women’s): Schedule and Results

Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final Rotterdam (Women’s)

Final Standings: 1. Germany, 2. Netherlands, 3. Korea, 4. New Zealand, 5. Japan, 6. Belgium, 7. India, 8. Chile

Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final Rotterdam (Women's) Logo
Highlights of all the Matches

Rotterdam, Netherlands (Live on YouTube)
June 13-22, 2013

Pool A: Chile, Japan, Korea, Netherlands
Pool B: Belgium, Germany, India, New Zealand

Detailed Schedule (in Local Rotterdam Time i.e. CEST): Continue reading →

Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final London (Women’s): Schedule and Results

Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final London (Women’s)

Final Standings: 1. Australia, 2. England, 3. Argentina, 4. China, 5. United States, 6. Italy, 7. South Africa, 8. Spain

Investec Hockey World League Semi Final 2013 London Logo

London, England (Live on YouTube)
June 22-30, 2013

Pool A:   Argentina, China, Italy, USA
Pool B:   Australia, England, Spain, South Africa

Detailed Schedule (in Local London Time i.e. BST): Continue reading →