The Fans of HockeyEventsOlympicsRio 2016 Qualification explained! India Women have a chance?
  • India men and Korea women were first one to qualify to Rio 2016 by winning Asian Games 2014 in Incheon
  • Men’s teams going to Rio 2016 from FIH Hockey World League Semi-Finals – Germany, Netherlands, Argentina, Australia, Belgium and Great Britain
  • Women’s teams going to Rio 2016 from FIH Hockey World League Semi-Finals – Great Britain, China, Germany, Netherlands, Australia and Argentina
Rio 2016 Hockey Qualification Explained by The Fans of Hockey

Rio 2016 Hockey Qualification Explained (Highres graphics on Facebook page of The Fans of Hockey )

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) have confirmed the nations who qualified for the 2016 Rio Olympics at the Hockey World League (HWL) Semi-Final Olympic qualifying events. The events across three venues, saw forty nations take part in pursuit of places at the 2016 Rio Olympics and the HWL Finals.

The nine men’s and seven women’s qualifiers from Round 2 of the HWL were joined in the Semi-Final by the teams ranked from 1-11 at the time of seeking entries all entering the fray.

Beginning in Buenos Aires, a gripping ten days of competition saw Germany men defeat hosts Argentina to win the overall event, with the Netherlands beating Canada to take third place and the remaining automatic ticket to Rio 2016.

Buenos Aires was followed by an equally exciting event in Valencia, Spain where Great Britain women took the title with a win in the final against China. Germany were third after beating Argentina in the third/fourth decider match to take the third Rio 2016 ticket available in Valencia.

The final qualifying event, a joint men and women’s event, culminated in Antwerp, Belgium. In the women’s event, the Netherlands defeated Korea with a late winner to win the event while Australia beat New Zealand to take third place. With Korea having already achieved Rio 2016 Olympic qualification by virtue of winning the Asian Continental Championship last year, a top three finish in Belgium opened the door to the highest ranked of the fourth place finishers from the HWL Semi-Final events in Valencia and Antwerp. Argentina finished fourth in Valencia and sit above New Zealand in the FIH world rankings, guaranteeing them an Rio 2016 ticket.

Meanwhile, the men’s event saw a late goal from Australia to take the title with a narrow victory over hosts Belgium with Great Britain securing third place over India to take the third and final Rio 2016 ticket.

The remaining Rio 2016 Olympic places will not be finalised until after the Continental Championships which finish in October this year. Which are also explained in the graphics above in this article.

India women have fair chances of qualifying to Rio 2016, provided any three of following happens:
1. Argentina or USA win Pan-Am Games 2015
2. Any of Great Britain, Germany, Netherlands win European Championship 2015
3. Australia or New Zealand win Oceania Cup 2015
4. Brazil finish outside 6th in Pan-Am Games

Eight teams from both the men’s and women’s events also qualified for the 2015 HWL Finals. The Finals are showpiece events where trophies and World Ranking points are on the line and will mark the end of a journey that began in June 2014. The women’s competition will take place in Argentina while India will play host to the men’s event, with the winning teams being rewarded with a place at the elite FIH Champions Trophy tournaments in 2016. The line-up’s for the HWL Finals are as follows:
Men – India, Germany, Netherlands, Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Belgium and Canada
Women – Great Britain, Germany, China, Argentina, Australia, Netherlands, Korea and New Zealand

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Rio 2016 Qualification explained! India Women have a chance? — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *