The Fans of HockeyNewsWomen's HockeyRitu Rani to Lead India in Hawke’s Bay Cup, New Zealand

The Indian Women Hockey Squad for the upcoming Hawke’s Bay Cup to be played in New Zealand from the 11th – 19th April 2015 was announced today. Ritu Rani will lead the team against seven other higher ranked teams including Argentina, Australia, China, Japan, Korea, USA and hosts New Zealand in the all important tournament. The Pargat Singh Defender of Year awardee Deepika will be the vice-captain of the team.

Indian women hockey team for Hawke’s Bay Cup

Indian women hockey team for Hawke’s Bay Cup

Playing their first match on 11th April 2015 against China, team India is all set and motivated for the upcoming challenge which awaits them in New Zealand. Training under Roelant Oltmans, Director, High Performance, Hockey India the team is aiming to win and claim the title as they understand that this will help them gear up for the all important Hockey World League Semi Final in Belgium.

Speaking on the team line-up, Captain of India, Ritu Rani said, “The team is high in confidence post our back to back wins in the World League Round 2 in New Delhi. We know the tournament will not be easy but the team is positive to fight it tough. We have worked hard on our attacks and penalty corner conversions and aim to stick to our strategies.

Speaking on the team, Roelant Oltmans, Director, High Performance, Hockey India said, “I have seen this team grow in confidence in the last one year and they are bettering themselves with each game. They will be clashing with the top teams in the tournament and they are looking forward to it. The aim is to stick to basics and not experiment much on the field while even following the strategies planned for the match.

The Hawke’s Bay Cup will be played from 11 April 2015 – 19 April 2015 and eight teams will be seen fighting it out for the title. India will play their first match against China at 6.00 AM IST on 11 April 2015.

The women hockey team of India for Hawke’s Bay Cup  is as following:
GOALKEEPERS: Savita; Rajni Etimarpu
DEFENDERS: Deep Grace Ekka; Deepika; Sunita Lakra; Sushila Chanu; M. N. Ponnamma; Monika
MIDFIELDERS: Ritu Rani; Namita Toppo; Lilima Minz; Liliy Chanu; Navjot Kaur; Sondarya Yendala
FORWARDS: Vandana Katariya; Rani; Poonam Rani; Anuradha Thockchom

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Ritu Rani to Lead India in Hawke’s Bay Cup, New Zealand — 5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *