The Fans of HockeyEventsAzlan Shah CupIndia Start Preparations for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

The Men’s Hockey team of India has started the preparations for upcoming 24th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, to be held from 5th-12th April, 2015 at Ipoh in Malaysia. The Indian Men Core probables have started the preparatory camp at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi on 16 March and will continue till 2 April 2015.

India celebrate as they took lead against Netherlands with Rupinder Pal Singh's low flick goal at the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 in Bhubaneswar

File Photo: India celebrating during the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 in Bhubaneswar

Thirty Two players are part of the camp which is for the refinement and training of the players before they depart for Malaysia, but seems some good performers at Hero Hockey India League have been ignored yet again. Out of 32 players, 3 are goalkeepers including PR Sreejesh, Harjot Singh and Sushant Tirkey, 10 Defenders, 9 Mid-Fielders and rest 10 Forwards.

The team has performed brilliantly in the recent past under former chief coach Terry Walsh and will be looking at continuing their form in the upcoming tournament under new chief coach Paul aan Ass. Though Hockey India press release does not talk about probable time of joining the team. He has joined the team on 16th March along with his assistant coaches Jude Felix and Sandeep Sangwan.

Commenting on the Training Camp, High Performance Director, Hockey India Roelant Oltmans said, “The men are in a positive frame of mind and uplifted spirits post their performance in the last tournaments where they have showcased that they are ready to take on any challenge on the field today. They are waiting for the upcoming tournament and confident that they will live upto expectations. The camp will enable them to work on their weak points while will further solidify their strengths.

The list of 32 players of Indian squad for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2015:

GOALKEEPERS: PR Sreejesh; Harjot Singh; Sushant Tirkey
DEFENDERS: Gurbaj Singh; Rupinder Pal Singh; Raghunath Vokkaliga Ramachandra; Birendra Lakra; Gurmail Singh; Gurjinder Singh; Manpreet Singh; Vickram Kanth; Kothajit Singh; Harbir Singh Sandhu
MIDFIELDERS: S K Uthappa; Dharamvir Singh; Chinglensana Singh Kangujam; Sardar Singh; Danish Mujtaba; Satbir Singh; Devinder Sunil Walmiki; Vikas Pillay; Jasjit Singh
FORWARDS: Nikkin Thimmaiah; Nithin Thimmaiah; S. V. Sunil; Mandeep Singh; Akashdeep Singh; Ramandeep Singh; Affan Yousuf; Yuvraj Walmiki; Talwinder Singh; Lalit Upadhyay.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


India Start Preparations for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup — 5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *