The Fans of HockeyEventsChampions TrophyGermany are the Champions, Bronze for Australia in #CT2014

Olympic Champions Germany defeated Pakistan in keenly contested final to win the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014. World Champions Australia defeated hosts India 2-1 in Bronze Medal match at Bhubaneswar to continue their podium finish streak. Earlier in the day, World number side the Netherlands managed a fifth place finish with a 4-1 win over Argentina, after scoring four times in the final quarter to turn things around after trailing 1-0. Earlier Pool A topper England edged past 3-2 Belgium to avoid wooden spoon.

Crowd in the stand was amazing at Bhubanewar throughout the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014

Crowd in the stand was amazing at Bhubanewar throughout the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014

In the final, Christopher Wesley scored a field goal for Germany in 18th, but Germany had many chances in first two quarters and failed to utilize them. Pakistan came strongly in 3rd quarter and played good in final quarter as well. Germany Captain Moritz Feurtse played an areal ball, which was picked and finished clinically by Florian Fuchs. As Germany won the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 after 7 years.

In Bronze Medal match, Nine minutes into the start of the match, India found themselves with an early opportunity. Picking up Tim Deavin’s miss-trap, Akashdeep Singh showcased great skill moving the ball around Australian defenders to fire a back stick tomahawk towards the goal. Misjudging his target, Akashdeep sent the ball high of the goal and out of reach, leaving the score 0-0.

Kookaburras captain, Eddie Ockenden opened the scoring for Australia after a well worked team goal with help from teammate Jake Whetton. Ockenden intercepted an oncoming ball from Whetton, delivering the ball on target and past India’s goalkeeper Shreejesh Parattu in the 18th minute of the match, pushing Australia in front with the lead 1-0.

Australian goalkeeper Tyler Lovell alongside the green and gold defence, held off India’s attacks for the first two quarters of the match.

Back onto the field for the third quarter, India managed to equalise in the 42nd minute. A scrambled goal coming off the back of a follow up penalty corner, Lalit Upadhyay was able to quickly slot the ball behind Australian goalkeeper Lovell to level score 1-1. Upadhyay’s goal carried India back into the game, giving India a second chance to claim bronze.

Deadlocked 1-1 for another 10 minutes, the match started to heat up. Kookaburras’ Matt Gohdes broke the score 2-1 after Jake Whetton set up the perfect scenario. Launching himself at the ball, Gohdes was able to get the rebound off the goalkeepers pads and past Parattu into the net, giving Australia the lead, and the final 2-1 win.

Argentina vs Netherlands: Matias Parades broke the deadlock when he converted Matias Rey’s pass with a nicely taken backhand shot to take his side ahead. The Dutch side fought hard to get on the board before half-time but Argentine goalie Manuel Vivaldi and his defenders stood firm.

The Netherlands goth the equalizer in the 47th minute when Mink van der Weerden found the target on a penalty corner. Jeroen Hertzberger shot his ahead with five minutes on the clock when he fired home a perfect reverse-stick shot. The Netherlands added one more through Constantijn Jonker soon after as Argentina removed their goalkeeper to get an extra field player. Hertzberger scoored one more on a penalty stroke to complete the tally.

England faced Belgium for the second time this week and after a 1-1 draw in the pool stages Head Coach Bobby Crutchley’s side were able to come away with a hard-fought 3-2 victory against their European foes. Belgium’s Florent van Aubel scored twice for his country, but two goals for East Grinstead’s David Condon in the first and second quarter and one for his club teammate Chris Griffiths on the stroke of half-time made it 3-2 and secured England the seventh place finish.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Germany are the Champions, Bronze for Australia in #CT2014 — 4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *