The Fans of HockeyEventsChampions TrophyThree Flickers to power India in the Champions Trophy at Bhubaneswar

With eight top teams of the world vying for Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014 title, the Indian Men Hockey Team for the upcoming tournament was announced today. The Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 scheduled to be held from 06-14 December 2014 in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

Men's Hockey Team of India for the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014

Men’s Hockey Team of India for the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014

The 18 member squad having power of three strong drag flickers namely Rupinder Pal Singh, Raghunath VR and young gun Gurjinder Singh, will be led by Sardar Singh (200 caps). The man under the bar P.R. Sreejesh (115 caps) will be the Vice-Captain for the team, while promising young goalie Harjot Singh has been also called up.

Speedster SV Sunil will lead the pack of young forwards including Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, and talented youngster Lalit Upadhyay. While Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh and Gurbaj Singh will join the three tall figures in defending unit. Captain Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Dharamvir Singh and SK Uthappa will take share the mid-field.

Selected by Hockey India selectors, Harbinder Singh, Dr. R. P. Singh, Arjun Halappa, Roelant Oltmans – Director High Performance, Jude Felix – Coach and Matthew Eyles – Scientific Advisor, the 18-member Indian Men team will be looking at continuing their winning form in the all-important Champions Trophy. The team was picked on basis of the selection trials conducted at MDC National Stadium, New Delhi on 18th November 2014.

The selection trials were lined for 26 senior probables but because of a minor injury, Akashdeep Singh was unable to attend the same.

India will be seen playing their first match in the Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014 against Germany on 6th December 2014 which will be followed by clashes against Argentina on 7th December 2014, and against Netherlands on 9th December 2014 (Full Schedule Here).

Speaking on the team India structure and current form, High Performance Director, Roelant Oltmans said, “Team India is in superb form and after a remarkable performance in 2014 Asian Games and Test Series in Australia, we are more than confident of doing well in this tournament. The team selected has the right combination and will give a tough time to the opponents”.

India Men Hockey Team for the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014:
Goalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh-Vice Captain (115 Caps); Harjot Singh (6 Caps)
Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh (101 Caps); VR Raghunath (176 Caps); Birendra Lakra (87 Caps); Kothajit Singh (87 Caps); Gurbaj Singh (180 Caps); Gurjinder Singh (19 Caps)
Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (112 Caps); Sardar Singh – Captain (200 Caps); Dharamvir Singh (90 caps); Danish Mujtaba (127 Caps); S.K. Uthappa (58 Caps)
Forwards: Ramandeep Singh (26 Caps); SV Sunil (153 Caps); Akashdeep Singh (56 Caps); Nikkin Thimmaiah (27 Caps); Lalit Upadhyay (9 Caps)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Three Flickers to power India in the Champions Trophy at Bhubaneswar — 9 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *