The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyIOCL and Haryana continue their winning streak at Bangalore Cup

BANGALORE, October 12: Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) notched up their second straight win beating home team Karnataka XI 6-2 in men’s section, while Haryana defeated the hosts 4-2 in women’s competition of the 1st Bengaluru Cup All-India invitational hockey tournament at the city’s only hockey stadium.

Haryana girls celebrating one of their goals against hosts Karnataka during Bangalore Cup 2014

Haryana girls celebrating one of their goals against hosts Karnataka during Bangalore Cup 2014

With two wins from two matches each, IOCL and Haryana lead the table with six points.

Meanwhile, Army XI came back from a two-goal deficit after opening 3 minutes and threatened to steal full points, but had to settle for a 3-3 draw with Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited. Army XI muffed three short corners in the last five minutes.

BPCL, thus picked up their first point in two outings as did Army XI in the five-team men’s competition.

In the women’s section, Western Railway defeated Central Railway 2-0 for their second win in three matches. Central Railway suffered their first loss in three outings to remain on four points.

In a fast-paced match, Karnataka men put up a spirited fight only in the first 10 minutes as IOCL picked up pace after initial hiccups.

With local lad and drag-flick specialist VR Raghunath not in his elements, IOCL failed to convert the first four short corners. However, once skipper Deepak Thakur put them in the lead in the 18th minute, Raghunath and Gurjinder Singh made it 3-0 by the break, converting the next two short corners.

Karnataka scored twice after the breather through Shesha Gowda and Umesh KR, but their joy was short-lived as IOCL struck back through Gurjinder and Deepak Thakur. Raghunath too got his second goal from an extended penalty corner after the hooter.

Haryana, who had routed Tamil Nadu 16-1 in their opening game on Saturday, maintained their momentum to overcome Karnataka XI for whom defender Ranjitha converted two penalty corners.

Today’s (12th October 2014) Results:

Men: IOCL 6 (Deepak Thakur 18th min, 49th, Raghunath 23rd, 70th, Gurjinder Singh 34th, 46th) beat Karnataka XI 2 (Sesha Gowda BM 40th, Umesh KR 46th).

Men: BPCL 3 (Lalith Upadhyay 2nd, Amir Khan 3rd, SV Sunil 22nd) drew with Army XI 3 (Binay Bhengra 14th, Chandan Aind 28th, 60th).

Women: Haryana 4 (Neha 28th, Jyoti Gupta 33rd, Monika 10th, Monika D 57th) beat Karnataka 2 (Ranjitha 21st, 67th).

Women:  Western Railway 2 (Jaswinder Kaur 22nd, Navneet Kaur 53rd) beat Central Railway 0.

Tomorrow (13th October 2014)’s schedule:
Women: 2 pm: Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy vs Tamil Nadu.
Men: 4pm: Army XI vs Air India.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


IOCL and Haryana continue their winning streak at Bangalore Cup — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *