The Fans of HockeyEventsAsian GamesIndian Women’s Team Announced to 17th Asian Games 2014 Incheon

With the 17th Asian Games 2014 slated to begin from 19 September in Incheon, South Korea, 16-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team was announced today.

Indian Women Captain Ritu Rani trying to challenge Stacey MICHELSEN of New Zealand during their match in Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

File Photo of Indian Women Captain Ritu Rani  in action against New Zealand in Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

Experienced Mid-fielder Ritu Rani (184 Caps) will continue to lead the team, while Deepika (131 Caps) will be supporting her as vice-captain of the team in the most important Asian Games, whose winner will book a place in Rio Olympics 2016.

The 16-member team for the 17th Asian Games 2014 was selected by Hockey India selectors B P Govinda, Harbinder Singh and Surinder Kaur along with Director High Performance Roelant Oltmans and Chief Coach Neil Hawgood on the basis of their performance in the recently concluded XX Commonwealth Games 2014 and selection trials conducted at NSNIS in Patiala on 10 August 2014.

Amandeep Kaur (9 caps) and defender Monika (12 caps), youngest of the 16 players, are ready and excited for the challenge. Riding high on the clean sweep victory over Malaysia and a fifth place finish in the XX Commonwealth Games, the Indian eves will be seen taking on Thailand in their first match of the tournament scheduled for 22 September 2014. The next clashes on the cards for the Indian women are against China on 24 September and Malaysia on 26 September 2014.

The team is currently practicing at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi and scheduled to depart for Incheon, South Korea, on 13 September, 2014 to participate in the Asian Games.

Speaking ahead of the important tournament, Chief Coach Mr. Neil Hawgood said, “The team has been practicing thoroughly all this while and are in their best form currently. The girls are in uplifted spirits and we expect a really high level of game from them. The women are looking forward to a tough fight against all the teams and are aiming for a top finish in the pool matches.

Indian Women’s Hockey Team for 17th Asian Games 2014 in Incheon, South Korea:
Goalkeeper: Savita (84 Caps);
Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka (62 Caps); Deepika (131 Caps) Vice-Captain; Sunita Lakra (30 Caps); Namita Toppo (51 Caps); Jaspreet Kaur (62 Caps); Sushila Chanu (76 caps); Monika (12 Caps)
Midfielders:  Ritu Rani (184 Caps) Captain; Lilima Minz (33 Caps); Amandeep Kaur (9 Caps); Chanchan Devi Thokchom (105 caps)
Forwards: Rani (116 Caps); Poonam Rani (118 caps); Vandana Katariya (104 Caps); Navjot Kaur (27 Caps)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Indian Women’s Team Announced to 17th Asian Games 2014 Incheon — 9 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *