The Fans of HockeyEventsCommonwealth GamesIndian Women’s Team for CWG2014 Announced: Rani Rampal is back in Action

New Delhi, 02 July 2014: Hockey India today announced Indian Senior Women’s Hockey team for the forthcoming Commonwealth Games which are scheduled to take place at Glasgow (Scotland) from 23 July to 3 August 2014.

Rani Rampal of India hitting a goal against Kazakhstan in Hockey World League Round 2 New Delhi

Midfielder Ritu Rani (179 caps) will be the Captain while defender Deepika (126 caps) will be the Vice-Captain of the team. With the return of Rani Rampal Indian forward line is expected to have more fire power, which was blunt during Champions Challenge 1 at Glasgow and saw India finishing at last place.

Savita is the lone goalkeeper in the team, while Vandana Katariya is expected to earn her 100th cap in Glasgow when she will take field against Canada in the campaign opener on 24th July 2014. In the following matches, India will face New Zealand on 27 July 2014, Trinidad and Tobago on 28 July 2014 and South Africa on 30 July 2014.

Speaking on the selection, Chief Coach, Neil Hawgood said, “The team showcased good play, team spirit and a go getter spirit in the recently concluded Malaysian Tour. Each one of them had performed remarkably under the proficient leadership of Ritu Rani and has earned their position to make it to the team for the all important Commonwealth Games. I hope the team continues its form during the Commonwealth Games and make themselves a team where the opponents feel the pressure of meeting them on the field”.

Commenting ahead of the Commonwealth Games, Captain Ritu Rani said, “It’s an honour to captain a team which is capable of beating any team on any given day. The entire team is looking forward to the upcoming tournament and we are confident that we will win and get back laurels. We are ready and excited for our first clash against Canada in our opening match.

The 16 players of squad were selected by Hockey India selectors B P Govinda, Harbinder Singh, Surinder Kaur along with Director High Performance Roelant Oltmans, Women’s Chief Coach Neil Hawgood and Scientific Advisor Matthew Tredrea during the selection trials conducted at NSNIS Patiala on 28-29 June 2014.

The preparatory camp of the Indian team is currently underway at NSNIS Patiala until the departure of the team on 9 July 2014 for Scotland to participate in the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Indian Women’s Hockey Team Commonwealth Games 2014:
Goalkeepers: 1- Savita (79 Caps)
Defenders: 2- Deep Grace Ekka (57 Caps); 3- Deepika (126 Caps) Vice- Captain; 4- Kirandeep Kaur (139 Caps); 5- Namita Toppo (46 Caps); 6- Jaspreet Kaur (57 Caps);
Midfielders: 7- Ritu Rani (179 Caps) Captain; 8- Sushila Chanu (71 Caps); 9- Lilima Minz (28 Caps); 10- Vandana Katariya (99 Caps); 11- Navjot Kaur (22 Caps)
Forwards: 12- Rani (111 Caps); 13- Poonam Rani (113 Caps); 14- Ritusha Arya (15 Caps); 15- Anupa Barla (33 Caps); 16- Anuradha Devi (62 Caps)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Indian Women’s Team for CWG2014 Announced: Rani Rampal is back in Action — 1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *