The Fans of HockeyEventsCommonwealth GamesRitu Rani to lead Indian Women Team for Malaysia Tour

New Delhi, 6 June 2014: Indian Senior Women Hockey Squad for the Malaysian Tour was announced today. The tour is scheduled to take place from 7 June 2014 till 17 June 2014 in preparations for the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games 2014.

Indian Women's Team celebrating their Hockey World League Round 2 Win in New Delhi

Indian Women’s Team celebrating their Hockey World League Round 2 Win in New Delhiini

India will be playing a six-match test series against Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur, as their build up games prior to their participation in the Commonwealth Games to be held at Glasgow (Scotland) from 23 July to 3 August 2014.

Midfielder Ritu Rani will be the Captain of the team while defender Deepika will be the Vice-Captain, while experienced Ansuta Lakra has been recalled for the for tour.

The squad of 21 players for the tour was selected by Hockey India selectors B P Govinda, Harbinder Singh, Surinder Kaur along with Chief Coach Neil Hawgood and Scientific Advisor Matthew Tredrea. Selection trials for the same were conducted at NSNIS Patiala on 23 and 24 May 2014. The preparatory camp of the Senior Women team for Commonwealth Games and Asian Games 2014 is already in progress at NSNIS Patiala from 14 May and will be an ongoing practice until the commencement of the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Speaking on the Selection, Chief Coach, Neil Hawgood said, “The players selected to be a part of the squad have shown immense talent and skills on the field and have earned their position to make it in the list.  We are looking forward for the Malaysian tour as this will help us and the players to understand their strengths and weaknesses even better and work on them to the level of perfection. We will be keeping a close watch on the players’ performances in this tour and will analyse the same to refine the edges to ensure good results in the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Speaking ahead of the six-match series, Captain Ritu Rani said, “I am very pleased to see the selected squad and I am glad to be a part of it. As I have been playing with all of these players for quite some time now and am aware of their capabilities, it gives me huge motivation when I look at the squad and I believe we all will give our best to live up to the expectations of our coaches and selectors. This tour is going to help us to get into the rhythm and prepare for the upcoming Commonwealth Games.

List of Selected Players-
Goalkeepers: 1. Yogita Bali; 2. Savita
Defenders: 3. Deepika (Vice-Captain); 4. Kirandeep Kaur; 5. Sunita Lakra; 6. Namita Toppo; 7. Jaspreet Kaur; 8. Gurjit Kaur; 9. Asunta Lakra; 10. Deep Grace Ekka
Midfielders: 11. Ritu Rani (Captain); 12. Sushila Chanu; 13. Lilima Minz; 14. Vandana Katariya; 15. Amandeep Kaur; 16. Navjot Kaur
Forwards: 17. Rani (Rampal); 18. Poonam Rani; 19. Ritusha Arya; 20. Anupa Barla; 21. Anuradha Devi

Schedule for the Malaysian Tour
First Match-           9 June 2014 (1800 MYT/1530 IST)
Second Match-    10 June 2014 (1800 MYT/1530 IST)
Third Match-        12 June 2014 (1800 MYT/1530 IST)
Fourth Match-     14 June 2014 (1800 MYT/1530 IST)
Fifth Match-         15 June 2014 (1800 MYT/1530 IST)
Sixth Match-        17 June 2014 (0800 MYT/0530 IST)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Ritu Rani to lead Indian Women Team for Malaysia Tour — 2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *