The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyManipur vs Steel Plant SB in Final of Jr Nationals (B-Division)

March 30, 2014: Steel Plant Sports Board and Manipur will face each other in the Finals of the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2014 (Division B) in Chennai. Steel Plant Sports Board defeated Services Sports Control Board 3-2 in the first semi final, while Manipur edged past Bengal by 3-2 in shoot-out after finishing at 2-2 in stipulated time.

In the super exiting match both the teams, Steel Plant Sports Board and Services Sports Control Board, showcased their strengths and defended very well in the first half. Naveen Minz scored the first goal for the Services Sports Control Board in the 22nd minute of the game and took the lead of 1-0 for the team. Soon in the 27th minute Janma Majhi of Steel Plant Sports Board levelled the score though a field goal. Both the teams gave tough fight to each other and scored 1 goal each till the half time.

In the second half, Salmon Lakra converted the penalty corner into a goal and took a lead over Services Sports Control Board in the 55th minute. Few minutes after the goal, Sanjiv Ekka scored another goal for Steel Plant Sports Board in the 61st minute through a field goal and took the score to 3-1. Services Sports Control board did not lose the hope and gave a tough fight and Jitender scored second goal for the team in the 70th minute of the game ending the match with 3-2 on the scoreboard.

The second semifinal started with 1st min goal by Raushan Kumar of Bengal Hockey Assocoation. Soon in the 8th min Amarjit Singh scored the first goal for Manipur through penalty corner to restore the parity. In the 28th minute Kundan Kujur proved his skills and scored another goal for Bengal Hockey Association and took the scorecard to 2-1. But Manipur bounced back in the game in the 30th minute and Dhahanjoy Meitei converted a penalty corner to level the score. Till the half time both the teams scored 2 goals each.

In the second half both the teams attacked and defended well and did not allow each other to score till the last minute and game went into the penalty shootout. In the penalty shootout, Bengal Hockey Association’s Subrajit Rakshit and Sanjay Paswan scored one goal each. From Manipur Dhahanjoy Meitei scored the 1st goal, Amarjit Singh scored second goal and and Dhahanjoy Meitei scored the third goal to lead Manipur to victory by 3-2.

Results of the day

Semi Finals 1 Steel Plant Sports Board 3 Jamna Majhi (27 min), Salmon Lakra (55 min), Senjiv Ekks (61min) Vs Services Sports Control Board 2 Naveen Minz (22 min), Jitender (70 min)

Semi Finals 2 Manipur 3 Amarjit Singh (8th min), Dhahanjoy Meitei (30 min) |Penalty Shootout – Dhahanjoy Meitei (2 goals), Amarjit Singh (1 goal), Vs Bengal Hockey Association 2 Raushan Kumar (1min), Kundan Kumar (28 min) | Penalty Shootout Subrajit Rakshit (1 goal), Sanjay Paswan (1 goal)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Manipur vs Steel Plant SB in Final of Jr Nationals (B-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *