The Fans of HockeyDomestic Hockey2nd Win Services & Manipur in Jr Men Nationals (B-Division)

25 March 2014: Service Sports Control Board defeated Assam 7-0 and Manipur beat Tripura 9-3 to register their 2nd consecutive win in the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2014 (Division B) on day 2. In the other matches Steel Plant Sports Board, Bihar and Vidarbha Hockey Association won their respective matches today, played at M R Stadium Egmore and YMCA Stadium in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

Action during Services vs Assam match at the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2014 (B-Division) at Chennai (Courtesy: P Kumar)

Action during Services vs Assam match at the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2014 (B-Division) at Chennai (Courtesy: P Kumar)

In Pool C match, Services Sports Control Board defeated Assam by 7-0. Services Sports Control Board dominated the first half and Naveen Minz scored two goals in quick succession in 16th and 23rd minute of the match. Hockey Assam started in good rhythm in the second half and defended very well but failed to score any goal. Services Sports Control Board came back well and scored 5 more goals in 51st, 58th, 61st, 63rd and 68th minute by Jitender, Ramandeep, Mangra Bhengra and Anup Minj and won the match by 7-0.

In the Pool A match, Steel Plant Sports Board registered a clear win defeating Uttarakhand by 14-0. Giving it a flying start, Steel Plant Sports Board’s Jamna Majhi score a goal in just 6th minute. Ashok Lakra found target thrice in 24th, 62nd and 67th minute in field play and on a penalty corner in 28th minute. In the second half, Santosh Baxla of Steel Plants Sports Board supported the team and made 4 goals in 54th, 57th, 68th, 69th minute followed by goals by Sanjiv Ekka, and Anand Kujur. Uttarakhand’s disappointed its supporters with a remarkably unsatisfactory performance finishing the match scoring no goals making the Steel Plant Sports Board the winning team.

In another Pool C match, Bihar defeats Goa with a score of 9-3. Subhash Sanga scored thrice for his team Bihar in 6th, 10th and 66th minute, one being a penalty corner. Bihar played extra ordinary well and did not allow the opponent team to score even a single goal in the first half. Subsequently, the goals were scored in quick successions from Bihar in 11th 16th 38th 59th 60th 65th by Bishram Dodray, Anand Kumar Bara and Md. Shahbaz Khan. Bihar was at its best ending the game with two penalty shoot outs in 59th and 65th minute by Bishram Dodray who continued to support his team. Putting tremendous efforts in making few saves in the second half, Goa’s Pandurang Sukhalkar scored 2 field goals in 37th and 68th minute and a penalty corner in 54th minute

In the Pool B match, Vidarbha Hockey Association beat Gujarat with a score of 4-2. Gaurav Khuje from Vidarbha Hockey Association scored the team’s first goal in 13th minute. While Rizwan Sheikh scored 2 goals quickly in 22th, 26th minute to raise the bars for Gujarat. The opponents tried to give a tough challenge to Vidarbha scoring the first goal in 28th minutes by Peter Thomas. After struggling over a long time, in the second half, Harshit Joshi of Gujarat scored a goal in 58th minute. Prafulla Lohangare from Vidarbha scored the winning goal in 60th minute.

In Pool D match, Jammu & Kashmir defeated Rajasthan by 5-3 and gave their fans a reason to cheer.

In another Pool D match Manipur beats Tripura by 9-3 to register their 2nd win in the tournament.

Results of the day (25th March 2013):

Pool C – Service Sports Control Board 7 Anup Minj (63 min), Mangra Bhengra (61 min), Naveen Minz (16, 21 min), Ramandeep (58 min), Jitender (51 and 68 mins) Vs. Assam 0

Pool A – Steel Plant Sports Board 14 Ashok Lakra (24, 28, 62, 67 min), Santosh  Baxla (54, 57, 68 and 69 min), ) Sanjiv  Ekka (4, 34 and 45 min), Janma Majhi (6 min), Anandkujur (42 and 51 min) Vs. Uttarakhand 0.

Pool C –Bihar 9 Subhash Sanga (6, 10 and 66 min), Bishram Dodray (59 and 65 min), Anand Kumar Bara (16, 38 and 60 min), Mdshahbaz Khan (11 min) Vs. Goa 3 Pandurang Sakhalkar (37,54 and 68 min)

Pool B – Vidarbha Hockey Association 4 Gaurav Khuje (13 min), Rizwan Sheikh (22, 26 min), Prafulla Lohangare (60 min) Vs Gujarat 2 Peter Thomas (28 min), Harshit Joshi (58 min)

Pool D – Jammu & Kashmir 5 Gagandeep Singh (10 and 51 min), Ishtiyaq Hussain (14, 16 and 22) Vs Rajasthan 3 Rahul Philip (9 min), Samrat Tyagi (12 min), Bharat Sharma (49 min)

Pool D – Manipur 9 AMARJEET SINGH (18, 59 and 64 min), Dhananjay Meitei (25 min), Jenjen Singh (40 and 65 min), Robert Meitei (50 min), Mantosh Singh (54 and 61 min) Vs Tripura 3 ABHISHEK YADAV (52 min), Faiz Sarwar (8 min), Mohd Azhar (67 min)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


2nd Win Services & Manipur in Jr Men Nationals (B-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *